Ashes 2017-18: England and Australia to meet in day-night Test in Adelaide

Australia South Africa Adelaide
Australia beat South Africa in a day-night Test in Adelaide in November, although they lost the series 2-1

England and Australia will meet in a day-night Test for the first time during the 2017-18 Ashes series.

The five-Test series will begin in Brisbane on 26 November, with the day-night match taking place in Adelaide from 2 December.

The third Test will be in Perth - either at the Waca or the new Perth Stadium.

Melbourne and Sydney will host the traditional Boxing Day and New Year Tests respectively.

A five-match one-day international series will follow, starting on 14 January 2018.

A Twenty20 tri-series featuring the two sides and New Zealand begins in February, with three matches in Australia and four in New Zealand, including the final.

"We know how much Adelaide fans love this style of Test cricket," Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland said of the day-night match.

"We're expecting a full house next year in what is sure to be a great contest."

A statement from Cricket Australia explained it is working with the Western Australian Cricket Association and the Western Australia Government "on the possibility of hosting matches at Perth Stadium in 2017-18".

The Perth Stadium is a new 60,000-seater venue which has been planned as a multi-sport arena, also hosting rugby union and league, football and Australian Rules football (AFL). Its official website states that it will be open "for the start of the 2018 AFL season", which is likely to be March 2018.

Test schedule

23-27 Nov 1st Test, Brisbane

2-6 Dec 2nd Test, Adelaide (d/n)

14-18 Dec 3rd Test, Perth (venue TBC)

26-30 Dec 4th Test, Melbourne

4-8 Jan 5th Test, Sydney

Top Stories