ICC Women's World Cup 2017: Hosts England face India in opener

England, ranked second in the world, have won the World Cup three times

Hosts England will play India in the first match of this summer's ICC Women's World Cup, at Derby on 24 June.

Champions Australia begin their defence against West Indies at Taunton two days later, while Bristol and Leicester are the other group stage venues.

The eight teams play each other in a round-robin format, with the top four sides qualifying for the semi-finals before the final at Lord's on 23 July.

England, ranked second in the world, play Australia in Bristol on 9 July.

Australia, England New Zealand and West Indies qualified by finishing in the top four of the ICC Women's Championship, while South Africa, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan clinched the last four places through the recent World Cup Qualifier.

International Cricket Council chief executive David Richardson said 9,000 tickets had already been sold for the final.

"We are anticipating an exciting tournament and I know the players are looking forward to competing here in front of unprecedented levels of support," he added.

The group games will be played at Bristol, Derby, Leicester and Taunton, with the semi-finals at Bristol and Derby,

England fixtures

  • v India - County Ground, Derby - Saturday, 24 June
  • v Pakistan - Grace Road, Leicester - Tuesday, 27 June
  • v Sri Lanka - County Ground, Taunton - Sunday, 2 July
  • v South Africa - County Ground, Bristol - Wednesday, 5 July
  • v Australia - County Ground, Bristol - Sunday, 9 July
  • v New Zealand - County Ground, Derby - Wednesday, 12 July
  • v West Indies - County Ground, Bristol - Saturday, 15 July

Click here for full tournament fixtures

Top Stories