Ireland women: Seven rookies in squad for England series in April

Leinster's Laura Delaney
Leinster's Laura Delaney will captain Ireland against an England XI and in a tournament in South Africa

Ireland have unveiled a new-look women's squad for a three-match series against an England XI in April.

The 15-player squad will also play a quadrangular tournament in South Africa against the hosts, Zimbabwe and India.

Seven uncapped players - Aoife Beggs, Rachel Delany, Louise Little, Lara Maritz, Sophie MacMahon, Leah Paul and Rebecca Stokell - are included.

After warming up with three 50-over matches against an England XI in the UAE, Ireland go to South Africa in May.

Ireland head coach Aaron Hamilton welcomed the additional matches for his young side despite the absence of many of his established internationals.

"This is a great opportunity the younger talent in our system to gain valuable international experience and show the cricketing world what they can do," said Hamilton.

"I'm relishing working with this squad over the next four weeks in the lead up to the England games.

"These two series will assist both women's cricket in Ireland and the players in this group immensely going forward."

The matches against the England XI will take place on 24, 26 and 28 April, while the quadrangular tournament in South Africa is from 7 - 21 May.

Ireland squad: Laura Delany (capt), Aoife Beggs, Laura Boylan, Rachel Delaney, Jennifer Gray, Shauna Kavanagh, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Lara Maritz, Sophie MacMahon, *Lucy O'Reilly, Leah Paul, **Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron.

*England game only; **quadrangular series only

Top Stories