IPL: Chris Lynn and Gautam Gambhir smash Kolkata to win over Gujarat

Chris Lynn
Chris Lynn hit an unbeaten 93 - including a fifty off 19 balls - as Kolkata set a world record in their 10-wicket victory over Gujarat
Indian Premier League, Rajkot
Gujarat Lions 183-4 (20 overs): Raina 68* (51), Karthik 47 (25), McCullum 35 (24)
Kolkata Knight Riders 184-0 (14.5 overs): Lynn 93* (41), Gambhir 76* (48)
Kolkata Knight Riders won by 10 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders broke the record for the highest successful chase without losing a wicket in Twenty20 cricket, beating Gujarat Lions by 10 wickets in the Indian Premier League.

Openers Gautam Gambhir and Chris Lynn took Kolkata to their target of 184 with 31 balls to spare in Rajkot.

Australia international Lynn reached his half-century off just 19 balls, finishing unbeaten on 93 off 41.

Knight Riders captain Gambhir hit 76 not out off 48 deliveries.

England batsman Jason Roy hit 14 as Gujarat made 183-4 off their 20 overs thanks to skipper Suresh Raina's unbeaten 68 alongside Dinesh Karthik (47) and Brendon McCullum (35).

Roy's international team-mate Chris Woakes - making his IPL debut - struggled with the ball for the Knight Riders, conceding 35 runs without taking a wicket off his three overs.

The previous record for the highest T20 chase without loss was 171, set by Perth Scorchers against Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash in 2015.

Lynn and Gambhir also claimed the record for the highest opening stand in IPL history, surpassing the previous best of 167 by Chris Gayle and Tillakaratne Dilshan for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors in 2013.

Top Stories