County Championship: Glamorgan's Bragg set to face Notts

Will Bragg
Will Bragg has also played for Wales Minor Counties

Will Bragg is set to return to County Championship action for the first time in 2017 when Glamorgan host Nottinghamshire from Friday, 19 May.

Batsman Bragg missed their opening three Division Two games because of a back injury, but has since returned in the One Day Cup.

Fast bowler Timm Van der Gugten is also included after his recent return.

Meanwhile, Marchant de Lange has been reprimanded over his bowling against Hampshire in the One Day Cup.

De Lange was judged to have committed a level one breach by bowling a fast short-pitched ball and/or accidental high full-pitched ball "that results in the bowler being disallowed from bowling any further in that innings".

The penalty did not prevent Glamorgan including De Lange in their 13-man squad against Nottinghamshire.

Like Bragg, Van der Gugten missed Glamorgan's winless start to the County Championship.

Glamorgan lost at Northamptonshire and at home against Worcestershire before drawing at Leicestershire.

Since then the Welsh county have won four of their One Day Cup games, including the last two, against Kent and Hampshire but failed to qualify for the knockout stages.

Bragg scored 233 runs at an average of of 38, which included a List A career best 94 against Kent at St Helen's, Swansea on Sunday, 14 May.

Bragg said: "It hasn't been the start in four-day cricket we would have liked, but cricket is a massive momentum game and we can grab some of that from the close wins that we gained over the last couple of weeks.

"Nottinghamshire are probably one of the stronger opposition we will face in the competition.

"We just need to go back to basics and make sure we do everything well as a team and not concentrate on what they do."

Pujara set for Notts debut

Division Two leaders Notts are set to give a debut to Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara.

England fast bowler Stuart Broad is available, but Alex Hales, Jake Ball and James Pattinson are on international duty.

Pujara has played 48 Tests and set a new Indian record for Test runs in 2016-17, also becoming the leading run-scorer in Indian first-class cricket.

The visitors have won their three opening Championship games and qualified for the One-Day cup quarter-final.

Glamorgan (from): Jacques Rudolph (capt), Nick Selman, Will Bragg, Colin Ingram, Aneurin Donald, Kiran Carlson, Chris Cooke (wk), David Lloyd, Andrew Salter, Marchant de Lange, Timm van der Gugten, Lukas Carey, Michael Hogan.

Nottinghamshire (from): Brendan Taylor, Jake Libby, Cheteshwar Pujara, Steven Mullaney, Chris Read, Stuart Broad, Riki Wessels, Harry Gurney, Luke Wood, Luke Fletcher, Matthew Carter, Samit Patel, Brett Hutton, Michael Lumb.

Top Stories