Intercontinental Cup: Scotland toil as Namibia build big total in Ayr

Scotland's Safyaan Sharif bowls against Namibia
Safyaan Sharif was the pick of Scotland's bowlers, with three wickets in one over

Scotland suffered a tough day in the field as Namibia took control of their Intercontinental Cup clash in Ayr.

Jan Frylinck produced his maiden first-class century as the tourists reached 403-7 at stumps on day two, after the first day was washed out on Tuesday.

The middle-order batsman hit 158 off 179 balls at Cambusdoon New Ground, assisted by weighty knocks from Stephan Baard (88) and Christi Viljoen (77).

Scotland's Safyaan Sharif took three wickets in five balls in the 29th over.

The right-armed pace bowler finished with 3-63 off his 20 overs, after reducing Namibia to 88-3.

The tourists won the toss, elected to bat and Baard and Louis van der Westhuizen shared a first-wicket stand of 87.

But Sharif had Van der Westhuizen caught by Con de Lange for 43, and then inflicted consecutive golden ducks on Gerhard Erasmus - trapping him lbw with the fifth ball of the over - and Craig Williams when he edged to Kyle Coetzer at third slip.

Former South Africa Under-19 international Frylinck steadied the ship superbly, enjoying a fourth-wicket partnership of 111 with Baard before an inside edge from the latter saw him caught by Calum MacLeod off Richie Berrington.

Frylinck, who hit 20 fours and four sixes in total, continued his fine form alongside Viljoen, their fifth-wicket stand of 151 eventually ended when Frylinck was caught and bowled by Mark Watt.

Namibia captain Sarel Burger was then dismissed for a duck, edging Alasdair Evans' delivery into the hands of Matthew Cross.

Viljoen spooned the ball to extra cover and was caught by Craig Wallace to become Berrington's second victim, leaving Zane Green (25no) and JJ Smit (10no) at the crease.

Scotland team: Kyle Coetzer (captain), George Munsey, Calum MacLeod, Richie Berrington, Con de Lange (vice-captain), Craig Wallace, Matthew Cross, Safyaan Sharif, Mark Watt, Ruaidhri Smith, Alasdair Evans.

Top Stories