Paul Collingwood seeks safety assurances over T20 series in Pakistan

Paul Collingwood
Paul Collingwood guided England to victory at the T20 World Cup in 2010

Former England all-rounder Paul Collingwood said he would be willing to play for a World XI T20 side in Pakistan next month provided adequate security measures were in place.

The 41-year-old is in the squad for the three-match series against the hosts.

The Independence Cup in Lahore will see international cricket played in the country for the first time since the attack on Sri Lanka's team in 2009.

"Until you hear the security details you can't really commit," he said.

"The tag of a 'World XI at 41' - I'm proud of that if I was to get into the team."

South Africa's Faf du Plessis, who will captain the side, welcomed the "safe resumption" of international cricket.

"All the members of the squad have complete faith and trust in the assessment and judgement of the security experts, who have assured us that there will be no comprise on the safety and security of all those involved in the series," added Du Plessis.

The Pakistan team has been forced to play their 'home' internationals in the United Arab Emirates since the 2009 incident. An exception in 2015, when Zimbabwe played three one-day international and two Twenty20 matches, was marred by a suicide bombing outside the Lahore stadium.

Durham player Collingwood, who was England's World T20 winning captain in 2010, added: "I think Karachi was probably one of the loudest crowds I have heard during an international match. They love cricket out there and it's a tough place to tour.

"If it was England and we weren't allowed to play cricket in England, we would be doing everything possible to get it back."

World XI squad: Faf du Plessis (captain, South Africa), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Samuel Badree (West Indies), George Bailey (Australia), Paul Collingwood (England), Ben Cutting (Australia), Grant Elliott (New Zealand), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), David Miller (South Africa), Morne Morkel (South Africa), Tim Paine (wicketkeeper) (Australia), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Darren Sammy (West Indies).

Top Stories