The Hundred: Australian Tom Moody and England's Lydia Greenway to coach Oval sides

Lydia Greenway (left) and Tom Moody
Lydia Greenway (left) and Tom Moody

Former Australia all-rounder Tom Moody and ex-England batter Lydia Greenway are to coach the two Oval-based teams in The Hundred in 2020.

The appointment of Moody, 53, who played for Warwickshire and Worcestershire, was first revealed by Surrey chairman Richard Thompson on BBC Test Match Special on Saturday.

Greenway, 34, who won the World Cup in 2009, retired from cricket in 2016.

Her appointment was confirmed by an ECB press release on Friday.

Of the seven women's coaches appointed so far, Greenway is the fourth from England.

The other three are Australian - and the Manchester franchise are yet to name theirs.

Greenway's side will play the majority of their games at Beckenham, but will have one fixture at The Oval in a double-header with a men's match.

There will be no English coach in charge of any of the men's teams in next year's inaugural 100-ball competition.

Since leaving his job was Worcestershire director of cricket in June 2005, Moody has coached Sri Lanka, Western Warriors in Australia, Kings XI Punjab and IPL Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League, Melbourne Renegades in Australia's Big Bash, Multan Sultans in the Pakistan Super League and Montreal Tigers in Canada.

The men's player draft for The Hundred will take place on Sunday, 20 October - the first time any such draft has been undertaken in a major British sport.

The Hundred coaches

  • Birmingham: Andrew McDonald (Australia, men's); Ben Sawyer (Australia, men's)
  • Cardiff: Gary Kirsten (South Africa, men's); Matthew Mott (Australia, women's)
  • Leeds: Darren Lehmann (Australia, men's); Danielle Hazell (England, women's)
  • London (Lord's): Shane Warne (Australia, men's); Lisa Keightley (Australia, women's)
  • London (The Oval): Tom Moody (Australia, men's); Lydia Greenway (England, women's)
  • Manchester: Simon Katich (Australia, men's); women's TBC
  • Nottingham: Stephen Fleming (New Zealand, men's); Salliann Briggs (England, women's)
  • Southampton: Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka, men's); Charlotte Edwards (England, women's)

Top Stories