David Moncoutie wins stage as Bradley Wiggins takes Vuelta lead

Bradley Wiggins
Wiggins suffered a broken collarbone during the Tour de France

Britain's Bradley Wiggins marked his full return from injury by claiming the overall lead of the Spanish Vuelta.

Stage 11 was won by David Moncoutie who reached the finish of the 167 km leg at the Manzaneda ski resort one minute and 18 seconds ahead of Benat Intxausti and Luis Leon Sanchez.

Moncoutie clocked 4 hours, 38 minutes for his fourth career Vuelta stage win.

"I'm absolutely delighted to be in red and cannot thank my team-mates enough," Wiggins said.

"They looked out for me right the way through the stage and did a fantastic job.

"It was chilly out there on that final climb but I felt comfortable right the way to the finish. When Rodriguez attacked there was no point in trying to follow him and as always, I just kept a steady pace and worked my way to the top."

The 31-year-old's grit carried him into the overall lead as the Briton finished 3:08 behind Moncoutie in 13th.

"To have Team Sky one and two on the podium is about as good as it gets really," Wiggins added.

The Team Sky rider, who sustained a broken collarbone at the Tour de France, took the leader's red jersey from teammate Christopher Froome, who is seven seconds behind in second place.

The 'Tour of Spain' finishes on 11 September in Madrid.

It continues on Thursday with a 167.3 km ride between Ponteareas and Pontevedra that is mostly flat and is expected to end in a sprint finish.

Result and overall standings after the 167-km 11th stage of the Tour of Spain from Verin to Estacion de Montana Manzaneda:

1. David Moncoutie (France / Cofidis) 4hrs 38mins 00secs

2. Benat Intxausti (Spain / Movistar) +1:18"

3. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spain / Rabobank)

4. Mathias Frank (Switzerland / BMC Racing) +1:36"

5. Sergio Paulinho (Portugal / RadioShack) +1:43"

6. Matteo Montaguti (Italy / AG2R) +2:29"

7. Amets Txurruka (Spain / Euskaltel)

8. Aitor Perez (Spain / Lampre) +2:55"

9. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha) +3:01"

10. David Bernabeu (Spain / Andalucia) +3:08"

Overall standings:

1. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Team Sky) 42 hrs 50 mins 41 secs

2. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) +7"

3. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Liquigas) +11"

4. Fredrik Kessiakoff (Sweden / Astana) +14"

5. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Leopard) +19"

6. Bauke Mollema (Netherlands / Rabobank) +47"

7. Maxime Monfort (Belgium / Leopard) +1:06"

8. Juan Jose Cobo (Spain / Geox) +1:27"

9. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / RadioShack) +1:53"

10. Janez Brajkovic (Slovenia / RadioShack) +2:00"

Top Stories