2013 Tour of Britain: Day-by-day stage guide

By Peter ScrivenerBBC Sport
Sir Bradley Wiggins
Sir Bradley Wiggins pulled out of last year's race but is hoping to contest the title in 2013

The Tour of Britain celebrated its 10th anniversary with an eight-stage race that started in Scotland and finished in London.

In between, the 114 riders, representing 19 teams, raced through the Lake District, Snowdonia and Dartmoor.

Sir Bradley Wiggins took victory for Team Sky, while Mark Cavendish rounded off the 2013 race by claiming his third stage win in a sprint through central London.

Sunday, 15 September - stage 1: Peebles - Drumlanrig Castle, 209.9km

Winner: Elia Viviani

In a race that began in wet and windy conditions in Peebles, neither of a five-strong early break or a solo burst from Frenchman Anthony Delaplace, could prevent a massed sprint finish.

Italian Viviani took advantage as Britain's Mark Cavendish failed to get a clear run and several riders were caught up in a crash behind them both.

Monday, 16 September - stage 2: Carlisle - Kendal, 186.6km

Winner: Gerald Ciolek

Sir Bradley Wiggins survived a crash on a rain-soaked day in the Lake District as Gerald Ciolek won stage two of the Tour of Britain to take the lead.

Team Sky leader Wiggins landed on top of Italian rider Giovanni Visconti, who crashed in front of him on a descent while travelling at more than 30mph.

Tuesday, 17 September - stage 3: Knowsley individual time trial, 16km

Winner: Sir Bradley Wiggins

Olympic champion Sir Bradley Wiggins took the overall lead after winning stage three's individual time trial.

The 33-year-old powered round the 16km (10-mile) course in Knowsley, Merseyside in 19 minutes 54 seconds to beat his fellow Briton and Team Sky team-mate Ian Stannard by 32 seconds.

Wednesday, 18 September - stage 4: Stoke-on-Trent - Llanberis, 188.4km

Winner: Mark Cavendish

British champion Mark Cavendish sprinted to victory - a record eighth in the Tour of Britain - in an exciting end to stage four.

Team Sky's British duo Sir Bradley Wiggins and Ian Stannard remained first and second in the overall standings after finishing in the main bunch

Thursday, 19 September - stage 5: Machynlleth - Caerphilly, 177.1km

Winner: Sam Bennett

Ireland's Sam Bennett sprinted clear in the final 100m to win his first stage race as Team Sky's Sir Bradley Wiggins retained the overall race lead.

The hilly 177km race from Machynlleth took the riders over the Brecon Beacons and ended with two ascents of Caerphilly Mountain.

Wiggins was seventh to stay 37 seconds ahead of team-mate Ian Stannard.

Friday, 20 September - stage 6: Sidmouth - Haytor, 138km

Great Britain academy rider Simon Yates sprinted to a superb victory, while Sir Bradley Wiggins worked hard to maintain his lead.

Yates, 21, left the pack trailing to win the first summit finish in the history of the race.

"I'm ecstatic," he said. "It's one of my best victories. With the company there, you can't get much better."

Saturday, 21 September - stage 7: Epsom - Guildford, 155km

Mark Cavendish won his second stage of this year's race by out-sprinting Italy's Elia Viviani to the finish on Guildford High Street.

The Manxman, riding for Omega Pharma Quick-Step, followed up Wednesday's win in Llanberis by claiming the ninth stage of his career in his home race.

"I saw Viviani coming and just moved across to put him on the rough part of the road," said Cavendish, who also won in Guildford last year.

Sunday, 22 September - stage 8: London, 88km

Sir Bradley Wiggins added the Tour of Britain title to his collection by sealing an emphatic victory in London.

Wiggins, who won the Tour de France and Olympic time trial in 2012, had led since winning the third stage and began stage eight with a 26-second advantage.

British road race champion Mark Cavendish won the concluding stage, his third stage win in this year's race.

Top Stories