Track Cycling Worlds 2014: GB women win team pursuit gold

GB defend women's team pursuit title

Great Britain's women continued their team pursuit dominance with gold at the World Track Cycling Championships in Cali, Colombia.

Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott, Katie Archibald and Elinor Barker won a sixth world title out of seven in the event for GB's first gold of the competition.

Crash bike ends up in commentary box

The time of four minutes 23.407 seconds bettered Canada by just over a second.

"It's a tough track to ride but we are over the moon to get the win," Rowsell told BBC Sport.

There was drama as Barker's legs gave up on the final lap with Canada pushing hard and the GB team made a mess of their change.

"At the end Elinor changed down the straight and I hadn't actually made it back onto the back yet," said Trott, who, like Rowsell was celebrating a fourth world title in the event.

"I was shouting because I thought if she turned any quicker she'd take me out and then it'd be game over if I take her down.

"You get lucky sometimes I guess and that's what happened."

Barker said: "I just could not hold those wheels. I completely parked it up. It was a split-second decision. I just had to get out of the way and let the girls carry on with it. It was that close that we just would've lost it if I'd stayed on the front."

It was a first world title for Scotland's Archibald, 19, after she joined the squad full-time at their Manchester training base in November and was selected ahead of London 2012 gold medallist Dani King, who was a reserve.

Defending champion Jason Kenny had to settle for fifth in the men's keirin behind France's Francois Pervis after being hindered by a crash in which Germany's Maximilian Levy fell.

Becky James' run of World Championship medals came to an end as she finished seventh in the women's 500m time trial, a non-Olympic discipline.

Defending champion Martyn Irvine of Ireland claimed silver in the men's 15km (60-laps) scratch race behind Ivan Kovalev of Russia, while his team-mate Ryan Mullen was fourth in the men's individual pursuit.

Top Stories