Contador wins Tirreno-Adriatico with Wiggins third in time trial

Alberto Contador

Bradley Wiggins finished third in the concluding 9.1km time trial stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico race, which was won overall by Alberto Contador.

The Team Sky rider finished the course in 10 minutes, 24 seconds, 11 seconds behind stage winner Adriano Malori.

Switzerland's four-time world champion Fabian Cancellara separated the pair.

Spain's Contador finished 41 seconds back but won the race by two minutes and five seconds from Colombia's Nairo Quintana, with Roman Kreuziger third.

Stage winner Italian cyclist Malori said: "It's the most beautiful victory in my entire life. I can't still believe myself.

"It's a reward to the efforts made for so many years."

Movistar rider Alex Dowsett finished sixth to ensure there were two British riders in the top 10.

It was the first overall race victory for Contador, who took the lead on stage five, since he won the 2012 Vuelta a Espana.

Contador, the 2007 and 2009 Tour de France winner, and current Tour champion Chris Froome will both compete in the Tour of Catalunya next week.

Briton Froome, 28, withdrew from the Tirreno-Adriatico before the start of the competition with an inflammation in his lower back.

The 2014 Tour de France's Grand Depart takes place in Leeds on 5 July.

Stage seven result:

1. Adriano Malori (Ita/Movistar) 10:13"

2. Fabian Cancellara (Swi/Trek) +6"

3. Bradley Wiggins (GB/Team Sky) +11"

4. Tony Martin (Ger/Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +15"

5. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Giant) +19"

Final standings:

1. Alberto Contador (Spa Tinkoff - Saxo) 25:28:45"

2. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +2:05"

3. Roman Kreuziger (Cze/Tinkoff - Saxo) +2:14"

4. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra/AG2R) +2:39"

5. Julian Arredondo (Col/Trek) +2:54"

Top Stories