Sir Bradley Wiggins and Emma Pooley win national time-trial titles

Sir Bradley Wiggins
Sir Bradley Wiggins finished one minute and eight seconds ahead of Geraint Thomas

Sir Bradley Wiggins and Emma Pooley won the British time-trial championships in Monmouthshire.

Wiggins triumphed in the men's race in a time of 53 minutes 56 seconds over a 26-mile course around Abergavenny.

The 2012 Tour de France winner, who says he will not be taking part in this year's race, beat Team Sky colleague Geraint Thomas by 68 seconds.

Pooley clocked 30 minutes 18 seconds over a 12.2-mile course to win the women's event.

In persistent rain, Wiggins, the London 2012 time-trial gold medallist, denied Thomas and Movistar's Alex Dowsett, who had been chasing a fourth successive title.

Although Team Sky have yet to announce their squad for the Tour de France, which begins in Leeds on 5 July, Wiggins is resigned to not being included.

Emma Pooley
Emma Pooley said it was "pretty special" to win the national time-trial title for a third time

He said: "This is probably my last British time-trial championship so to win it and perhaps never come back again is a nice way to end it."

Pooley, the 2008 Olympic silver medallist, took her third national title as she finished 39 seconds ahead of Katie Archibald, with Dame Sarah Storey 51 seconds behind in third.

Elinor Barker was fourth, Laura Trott fifth and defending champion Joanna Rowsell sixth.

"It is pretty special to win this," said 31-year-old Pooley, who was riding for VC Norwich.

"I was pleased with the way I rode because I was pretty tired at the end, and that is how you should feel."

Pooley, world champion in 2010, now turns her attention to Sunday's road race in Monmouthshire, in which Lizzie Armitstead will defend her title.

Top Stories