Vuelta a Espana: Nairo Quintana moves into overall lead

Nairo Quintana
Quintana claimed his first Grand Tour win at the Giro d'Italia earlier this year

Nairo Quintana claimed the lead of the Vuelta a Espana as the victory hopes of Britain's Chris Froome receded slightly on Sunday's mountainous ninth stage.

Colombia's Quintana fared the best of the race leaders on the 185km leg, coming home more than two minutes behind stage victor Winner Anacona.

Quintana displaces Movistar team-mate Alejandro Valverde atop the overall standings ahead of Monday's rest day.

Froome lost time on the final climb and sits 28 seconds off Quintana in fifth.

The Team Sky rider had been 20 seconds off previous leader Valverde after Saturday's eighth stage but the pair both lost time to Quintana, Alberto Contador and Joaquim Rodriguez on the category-one climb to the Aramon Valdelinares summit finish.

Quintana, the 2014 Giro d'Italia winner, has a three-second lead over Tinkoff-Saxo rider Contador, with Valverde another five seconds back.

Fellow Colombian Anacona's stage-nine win sees the Lampre-Merida rider close to within nine seconds of the lead, with Froome 19 seconds further back in fifth place.

Stage nine results:

1. Winner Anacona (Col/Lampre) 4:34:15"

2. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/Astana) +45"

3. Damiano Cunego (Ita/Lampre) +50"

4. Javier Moreno (Spa/Movistar) +1:04"

5. Peio Bilbao (Spa/Caja Rural) +1:12"

6. Jerome Coppel (Fra/Cofidis) +1:21"

7. Ryder Hesjedal (Can/Garmin) +1:33"

8. Adam Hansen (Aus/Lotto) +1:45"

9. Bob Jungels (Lux/Trek) +1:49"

10. Fabio Felline (Ita/Trek) +2:08"

Overall classification after stage nine:

1. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) 35:58:05"

2. Alberto Contador (Spa/ Tinkoff-Saxo) +3"

3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +8"

4. Winner Anacona (Col/Lampre) +9"

5. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +28"

6. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +30"

7. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) +1:06"

8. Robert Gesink (NED/Belkin) +1:19"

9. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) +1:26"

10. Warren Barguil (Fra/Giant)