Tour of Britain 2014: Stage-by-stage reports and pictures

Dylan Van Baarle of Garmin-Sharp (centre) poses with second-placed Micha Kwiatkowskii of Omega Pharma-Quickstep (left) and third- placed Sir Bradley Wiggins of Team Sky (right)
Dylan Van Baarle (centre) poses with second-placed Micha Kwiatkowskii (left) and third-placed Sir Bradley Wiggins of Team Sky (right)

Dylan van Baarle won the Tour of Britain title, finishing ahead of Poland's Michal Kwiatkowski and Britain's defending champion Sir Bradley Wiggins.

Here's how the Dutch Garmin-Sharp rider won the title, and details of each day's stage winner.

Sunday, 7 September - stage 1

Liverpool city centre, 104.8 km (65 miles) - 8 laps of 13.1km (8.1 miles)

Marcel Kittel is awarded the race leader's jersey after winning stage one in Liverpool
Kittel is awarded the race leader's jersey after winning stage one in Liverpool

Winner: Marcel Kittel (Ger/Giant-Shimano)

Report: Kittel wins sprint, Mark Cavendish third.

British rider Adam Blythe makes a late dash for glory but Germany's Marcel Kittel times his sprint to perfection. Mark Cavendish crashes into a car during the stage but manages to finish third. Defending champion Sir Bradley Wiggins stays safe and finishes in the peloton.

Monday, 8 September - stage 2

Knowsley - Llandudno, 200.8km (124.9 miles)

Mark Renshaw celebrates after winning the second stage
Mark Renshaw celebrates after winning the second stage

Winner: Mark Renshaw (Aus/Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)

Report: Renshaw wins sprint to take race lead.

Australia's Mark Renshaw wins from Britain's Ben Swift after a hectic descent and sprint finish on the north Wales coast to take the overall lead. Defending champion Sir Bradley Wiggins leads out Team Sky team-mate Swift before finishing in the peloton.

Tuesday, 9 September - stage 3

Newtown - The Tumble, Abergavenny, 179.9km (119.9 miles)

Edoardo Zardini
Edoardo Zardini took the stage win and and leader's jersey

Winner: Edoardo Zardini (Ita/Bardiana-CSF)

Report: Zardiani takes lead as Wiggins moves into fifth.

Italy's Edoardo Zardini time his late break to perfection to overhaul Nicolas Roche and take victory - and the overall lead - at the top of the Tumble in Abergavenny. Michal Kwiatkowski finishes second ahead of Roche, while defending champion Sir Bradley Wiggins moves into fifth in the overall standings, 24 seconds behind Zardini.

Wednesday, 10 September - stage 4

Worcester - Bristol, 184.6km (114.8 miles)

Michal Kwiatkowski
Michal Kwiatkowski won a sprint finish in Bristol

Winner: Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol/Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)

Report: Kwiatkowski wins stage four to take lead.

Michal Kwiatkowski takes the lead of the Tour of Britain after powering to victory on stage four in Bristol. The Pole heads stage-three winner Edoardo Zardini by three seconds overall, while Sir Bradley Wiggins drops back another place to sixth overall.

Thursday, 11 September - stage 5

Exmouth - Exeter, 177.3km (110.3 miles)

Matthias Brandle
Brandle described the stage win as "the biggest victory of my career so far"

Winner: Matthias Brandle (Aut/IAM Cycling)

Report: Brandle wins stage five in Devon

Austria's Matthias Brandle is the lone survivor of a four-man breakaway, holding on for victory in front of Shane Archbold and Maarten Wynants. Michal Kwiatkowski finishes seventh to retain the lead, with no change in the overall standings.

Friday, 12 September - stage 6

Bath - Hemel Hempstead, 205.6km (127.9 miles)

Alex Dowsett leads the Tour of Britain
Alex Dowsett claimed the overall lead after finishing behind Matthias Brandle.

Winner: Matthias Brandle

Report: Dowsett takes Tour of Britain lead.

England's Alex Dowsett takes the overall lead from Michal Kwiatkowski after finishing second to Matthias Brandle, who claims back-to-back stage victories. Defending champion Sir Bradley Wiggins drops to seventh.

Saturday, 13 September - stage 7

Camberley - Brighton, 225.1km (140 miles)

Julien Vermote
Vermote was in a five-man breakaway before attacking on the penultimate climb

Winner: Julien Vermote

Report: Van Baarle takes narrow lead in Tour.

Belgium's Julien Vermote wins the seventh stage of the Tour of Britain as overall leader Alex Dowsett loses the yellow jersey to Dylan van Baarle. Dowsett slips down to 10th overall, with Dutch rider Van Baarle holding a 19-second lead over Michal Kwiatkowski.

Sunday, 14 September - stage 8a

London, individual time trial, 8.8km (5.5 miles)

Sir Bradley Wiggins
Wiggins's performance saw him move up from seventh in the overall standings

Winner: Sir Bradley Wiggins

Report: Wiggins wins Tour time trial.

Sir Bradley Wiggins wins the individual time trial in London to move up to third in the general classification with a time of nine minutes 50 seconds, but Dylan van Baarle retains the yellow jersey ahead of the final stage through the streets of the capital.

Sunday, 14 September - stage 8b

London, 88.8km (55 miles) - 10 laps of 8.8km (5.5 miles)

Dylan van Baarle
Dylan van Baarle won the overall title as Marcel Kittel pipped Mark Cavendish to the final stage win

Winner: Marcel Kittel

Report: Cavendish beaten as Van Baarle wins title

Mark Cavendish loses out by inches to Marcel Kittel in a sprint finish on the final stage of the Tour, as Dylan van Baarle wins the overall race, finishing ahead of Poland's Michal Kwiatkowski and Britain's Sir Bradley Wiggins.