Vuelta a Espana: Aru wins stage 11, Alberto Contador stays ahead

Fabio Aru wins stage 11
Aru's stage victory leaves him seventh overall

Italian Fabio Aru won the 11th stage of the Vuelta a Espana as Alberto Contador retained the overall lead.

Contador, winner in 2008 and 2012, came fourth on the 153.4km stage from Pamplona, ahead of Britain's Chris Froome, and has a 20-second advantage.

Froome is fourth overall, one minute and 21 seconds behind the Spaniard.

Pre-race favourite Nairo Quintana, who lost the lead to Contador on Tuesday, retired from the race after crashing for the second time in two days.

Froome, who lost time to Contador on Tuesday's time trial stage, had appeared to be struggling but with two kilometres to go he drew alongside the leaders and briefly kicked forward, out of the saddle with the gradient hitting 14%, as the riders fought their way through the crowds on the narrow road.

Aru made his attack and pulled away, with Alejandro Valverde, Contador and Joaquim Rodriguez crossing as a group six seconds behind him, and Froome finishing one second further back.

Victory for Aru puts him seventh in the general classification, two minutes and 13 seconds off the lead.

Thursday's 12th stage is a 166.4km run to Logrono, with the race concluding on 14 September.

Stage 11 result:

1. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) 3hrs 41mins 03secs

2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +6secs

3. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) Same time

4. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff - Saxo)

5. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +7secs

6. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +13secs

7. Samuel Sanchez (Spa/BMC Racing) +15secs

8. Daniel Martin (Ire/Garmin-Sharp) Same time

9. Daniel Navarro (Spa/Cofidis) +16secs

10. Robert Gesink (Ned/Belkin) +21secs

Overall classification after stage 11:

1. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff - Saxo) 40hrs 26mins 56secs

2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +20secs

3. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +1min 08secs

4. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +1min 21secs

5. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +1min 35secs

6. Samuel Sanchez (Spa/BMC Racing) +1min 52secs

7. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) +2mins 13secs

8. Winner Anacona (Col/Lampre) +2mins 22secs

9. Robert Gesink (Ned/Belkin) +2mins 55secs

10. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Cannondale) +3mins 51secs