Vuelta a Espana: John Degenkolb takes 12th stage sprint win

John Degenkolb
John Degenkolb also won five stages in the 2012 Vuelta a Espana

Germany's John Degenkolb claimed a third sprint victory as he won the 12th stage of the Vuelta a Espana.

Degenkolb finished ahead of Belgian Tom Boonen and Italy's Jacopo Guarnieri on the 166.4km stage around Logrono.

Spain's Alberto Contador retained the overall lead as a crash in the final kilometre meant no changes to the order of the general classification.

Contador is 24 seconds ahead of compatriot Alejandro Valverde with Britain's Chris Froome fourth.

Giant Shimano rider Degenkolb, who also won in Logrono during one of his five stage wins in 2012, held off the challenge of Omega Pharma-QuickStep's Boonen to consolidate his lead in the points classification's green jersey.

Astana's Jacopo Guarnieri was third and Slovakian Peter Sagan from Cannondale fourth.

Friday's 188.7km 13th stage is from Belorado to Obregon, with the race concluding on 14 September.

Stage 12 result:

1. John Degenkolb (Ger/Giant) 4hrs 11mins 18secs

2. Tom Boonen (Bel/Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) Same time

3. Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita/Astana) Same time

4. Peter Sagan (Svk/Cannondale) Same time

5. Maximiliano Richeze (Arg/Lampre) Same time

6. Yannick Martinez (Fra/Europcar) Same time

7. Lloyd Mondory (Fra/AG2R) Same time

8. Fabian Cancellara (Sui/Trek) Same time

9. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek) Same time

10. Guillaume Boivin (Can/Cannondale) Same time

Overall classification after stage 12:

1. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff - Saxo) 44hrs 38mins 14secs

2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +20secs

3. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Omega Pharma-QuickStep) +1min 08secs

4. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +1min 20secs

5. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +1min 35secs

6. Samuel Sanchez (Spa/BMC Racing) +1min 52secs

7. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) +2mins 13secs

8. Winner Anacona (Col/Lampre) +2mins 22secs

9. Robert Gesink (Ned/Belkin)+2mins 55secs

10. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Cannondale) +3mins 51secs

Top Stories