British Cycling National Road Championships route announced

Peter Kennaugh
Peter Kennaugh won the 2014 road race in Wales

The route for the 2015 British Cycling National Road Championships through Lincolnshire has been announced.

The event begins on Thursday, 25 June with the time trials, which start at Cadwell Park Motor Racing Circuit in the Lincolnshire Wolds and take in a number of local villages.

The road races will feature several laps of a 28-mile circuit starting at The Yarnborough Leisure Centre.

The route takes in a cobbled climb, finishing at Lincoln's Castle Square.

"The routes for the 2015 Championships will present riders with challenging courses which will see the first uphill finish at the road race championships for a number of years," British Cycling's cycle sport and membership director Jonny Clay said.

"With the famous cobbled climb of Michaelgate featuring heavily in the road race courses we can expect to see enthralling battles which will produce worthy champions."

In 2014, Peter Kennaugh won the men's road race in Wales, while Sir Bradley Wiggins won the time trial.

Olympic and world track champion Laura Trott, won the women's road race with Emma Pooley taking the time trial title.

Top Stories