Track Cycling World Cup: Laura Trott in GB team to win gold

The women's team pursuit squad on their way to gold
The GB women's team pursuit squad are current world champions

Great Britain won two golds and a silver in Saturday's finals at the UCI Track Cycling World Cupexternal-link in Guadalajara, Mexico.

Laura Trott, Ciara Horne, Elinor Barker and Amy Roberts won the women's team pursuit final, beating Canada.

There was also gold for Philip Hindes, Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner in the men's team sprint.

Jon Dibben, Steven Burke, Mark Christian and Andy Tennant took silver in the men's team pursuit.

The women's team pursuit squad had qualified fastest and with Roberts replacing Katie Archibald they beat China in the semi-final. They then finished almost five seconds clear of the Canadians in the final, winning in four minutes 21.256 seconds.

GB were second quickest going into the men's team sprint final behind Germany but they reversed that result after their opponents opted to replace Stefan Botticher with Eric Engler in the final.

The team of Hindes, Kenny and Skinner clocked a time of 43.092 ahead of Germany's 43.106.

But Australia proved too strong in the team pursuit, finishing in 3:55.976 with the GB quartet managing 3:58.129.

Kenny almost won a second medal in the men's keirin but finished fourth, with less than a second separating the six finalists.

Top Stories