Alex Dowsett will attempt to break hour world record in February

Alex Dowsett
Alex Dowsett won gold in the time trial at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow

Britain's Alex Dowsett will attempt to break the hour world record at London's Olympic Velodrome on 27 February.

Commonwealth Games time-trial champion Dowsett, 26, hopes to go further than the current mark of 51.852km, set by Austria's Matthias Brandle in October.

Australians Jack Bobridge and Rohan Dennis may extend the mark given they attempt the record earlier in 2015.

Sir Bradley Wiggins is also expected to reveal details of his own attempt at the record in the near future.

30 October: Matthias Brandle breaks one-hour track cycling record

The hour record is the blue riband event for track cycling, and is a record that has recently enjoyed a renaissance after world governing body Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) changed its rules about the use of aerodynamic equipment.external-link

Germany's Jens Voigt broke Ondrej Sosenka's nine-year-old record in September, only for Brandle to surpass him the following month.

Movistar rider Dowsett, a haemophilia sufferer, wants to raise awareness about the condition with his bid to beat the distance next year.

"The hour is something I've always been interested in; the simplicity of it, mostly: no tactics, no hiding, just you and the bike," said Dowsett.

"Now I've got a new sense of drive as I know that the more success I can achieve, the more hope it will give everyone in the whole rare disease community."

Dowsett's attempt will take place at the Revolution Series track cycling event, with Dame Sarah Storey making her attempt at the women's record a day later.

Bobridge will make his bid to break the record in Melbourne on 31 January, with Dennis's challenge coming a week later on 8 February in Switzerland.

UCI hour world record landmarks*
1876 (first record)Frank Dodds26.508km
1893Henri Desgrange35.325km
1898Willie Hamilton40.781km
1935Giuseppe Olmo45.090km
1972Eddy Merckx49.431km
2000Chris Boardman49.441km
2005Ondrej Sosenka49.700km
2014 (Sep)Jens Voigt51.115km
2014 (Oct)Matthias Brandle51.850km
*Does not include those cancelled from record books by UCI