Jens Debusschere wins Tirreno-Adriatico second stage

Jens Debusschere
Jens Debusschere has raced for Omega Pharma-Lotto since 2011

Belgium's Jens Debusschere sprinted to victory on the second stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico as Italy's Adriano Malori retained the overall lead.

Debusschere secured the win despite a crash on the home straight to finish in three hours 30 minutes and 18 seconds.

Slovakia's Peter Sagan and Ireland's Sam Bennett were second and third on the 153km Camaiore to Cascina route.

Sagan moves up to second overall. Mark Cavendish finished in 14th place after being clipped by Sky's Elia Viviani.

Cavendish lost momentum inside the closing 200 metres when his foot detached from a pedal and Viviani's front wheel made contact with him.

That led to a crash behind him which removed a number of contenders, and saw Etixx-Quickstep rider Cavendish finish in 14th place.

Tirreno-Adriatico Stage One result

1. Jens Debusschere (Belgium/Lotto-Soudal) 3:30:18"

2. Peter Sagan (Slovakia/Tinkoff-Saxo)

3. Sam Bennett (Ireland/Bora-Argon 18)

4. Alexander Porsev (Russia/Katusha)

5. Tyler Farrar (United States/MTN-Qhubeka)

6. Magnus Cort Nielsen (Denmark/Orica GreenEdge)

7. Roger Kluge (Germany/IAM Cycling)

8. Nicola Ruffoni (Italy/Bardiani CSF)

9. Zakkari Dempster (Australia/Bora-Argon 18)

10. Mark Renshaw (Australia, Etixx-QuickStep)

Classification after stage two

1. Adriano Malori (Italy/Movistar) 3:36:22"

2. Peter Sagan (Slovakia/Tinkoff-Saxo)

3. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland/Trek Factory Racing) +1"

4. Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium/BMC Racing) +2"

5. Matthias Brandle (Austria/IAM Cycling)

6. Maciej Bodnar (Poland/Tinkoff-Saxo)

7. Daniel Oss (Italy/BMC Racing) +4."

8. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania/Cannondale-Garmin) +5"

9. Stephen Cummings (Britain/MTN-Qhubeka) +6"

10. Martijn Keizer (Netherlands/Lotto NL-Jumbo) +7"

Selected others

23 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Astana) +11

30. Mark Cavendish (Great Britain/Etixx-QuickStep) +12"