Colombia's Nairo Quintana wins Tirreno-Adriatico

Nairo Quintana (C) of the Movistar Team is congratulated by second placed Dutch rider Bauke Mollema (L) of the Trek Factory Racing team and third placed Colombian rider Rigoberto Uran

Nairo Quintana of Colombia won Italy's Tirreno-Adriatico after Switzerland's Fabian Cancellara took the final stage.

Cancellara finished four seconds ahead of Adriano Malori in Tuesday's 10km (6.2-mile) individual time trial around San Benedetto del Tronto.

Movistar's Quintana did enough to top the overall classification by 18 seconds from Dutchman Bauke Mollema.

Briton Mark Cavendish pulled out after Monday's penultimate stage, with the Milan-San Remo classic on Sunday.

Cavendish, who won the prestigious one-day race in 2009, was one of five Etixx-Quick-Step riders to withdraw, with team director Brian Holm saying: "Milan-San Remo is in a few days, so we didn't want to take the risk to have any sick riders before a big appointment."

Quintana, 25, made the decisive move in Sunday's mountain stage when he finished ahead of Alberto Contador, Thibaut Pinot and Tour de France champion Vincenzo Nibali, who struggled for form.

Colombian Rigoberto Uran took third place, with Britain's Steven Cummings finishing sixth.

Stage seven result:

1. Fabian Cancellara (Swit/Trek) 11mins 23secs

2. Adriano Malori (Ita/Movistar) +4secs

3. Vasil Kiryienka (Blr/Team Sky) +9secs

4. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa/Movistar) +12secs

5. Maciej Bodnar (Polk/Tinkoff-Saxo) +16secs

6. Michael Hepburn (Aus/Orica) +16secs

7. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lit/Cannondale) +17secs

8. Steven Cummings (GB/Team MTN) +23secs

9. Andrey Amador (Crc/Movistar) +25secs

10. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor/Team MTN) +26secs

Final classification:

1. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) 25hrs 11mins 16secs

2. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek) +18secs

3. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Etixx-Quick-Step) +31secs

4. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/FDJ) +35secs

5. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff-Saxo) +39secs

6. Steven Cummings (GB/Team MTN) +40secs

7. Wout Poels (Ned/Team Sky) +56secs

8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/AG2R) +59secs

9. Adam Yates (GB/Orica)+1min 09secs

10. Roman Kreuziger (Cze/Tinkoff-Saxo) +1min 11secs

Top Stories