Tour de Yorkshire: Ed Clancy and Samuel Sanchez join race line-up

Ed Clancy
Ed Clancy has been part of the British team that has won pursuit gold in the past two Olympic Games

Olympic gold medallists Ed Clancy and Samuel Sanchez will join Sir Bradley Wiggins in the first Tour de Yorkshire.

Briton Clancy, 30, who won team pursuit gold medals in 2012 and 2008, and Spain's Sanchez, a gold medallist in 2008, will be racing in the May event.

The Tour will begin on 1 May with a stage from Bridlington to Scarborough, followed by Selby to York on 2 May, and then Wakefield to Leeds on 3 May.

Eleven-time Paralympic champion Dame Sarah Storey is in the women's event.

That race will take place on 2 May and consists of four 20km laps of a circuit in York. The full line-up for the women's race will be named on Tuesday, 21 April.

Wiggins, the 2012 Tour de France winner, will lead his own Team Wiggins developmental squad in the men's event after he leaves Team Sky in April.

The inaugural Tour de Yorkshire comes after the opening two stages of the 2014 Tour de France were held in the county.

Analysis: BBC Sport's Matt Slater

"Every new race on the already crowded calendar faces an uphill slog to establish itself. So the quality of the line-up for the inaugural Tour de Yorkshire is an encouraging testament to the excitement generated by last year's memorable Grand Depart.

"But there is one big name on the list the organisers might regret. BMC's Greg van Avermaet is a possible winner in Leeds but he is also under investigation for alleged doping offences in Belgium and may well be banned next month."

Tour de France
The 2014 Tour de France Grand Depart was described as "very, very special" by race director Christian Prudhomme

Key riders in the Tour de Yorkshire

SKY: Ben Swift, Chris Sutton, Bernie Eisel, Sebastian Henao, Nathan Earle

Giant-Alpecin: Marcel Kittel, Lawson Craddock, Bert de Backer, Lars van der Haar

IAM: Matteo Pelucchi

Lotto NL-Jumbo: Moreno Hofland, Maarten Tjallingii

BMC: Samuel Sanchez, Marcus Burghardt, Greg van Avermaet

Europcar: Tommy Voeckler, Cyril Gautier

Cofidis: Nicolas Edet, Julien Simon

Hardy Cult Energy Pro Cycling: Russ Downing, Linus Gerdemann

MTN-Qhubeka: Steve Cummings, Gerald Ciolek, Matt Brammeier

Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise: Capiot Roompot Oranje Peloton: Kreder, Duijn

Team Wiggins: Wiggins, Owain Doull, John Dibben

Great Britain: Germain Burton, Gabriel Cullaigh, possibly Josh Edmondson (Yorkshire)

JLT Condor: Ed Clancy, Kristian House Madison Genesis: Erick Rowsell, Tom Scully

ONE Pro Cycling: Yanto Barker, Pete Williams

NFTO: Steele Von Hoff, Ian Bibby

Team Raleigh GAC: Steve Lampier, Ian Wilkinson