Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish, Laura Trott in Revolution Series

Sir Bradley Wiggins
Wiggins has won four Olympic gold medals and the Tour de France

Sir Bradley Wiggins heads a strong British Cycling team competing in the Revolution Series opening round in Derby, which begins on Friday.

Olympic and world champions including Wiggins, Mark Cavendish, Laura Trott, Becky James, Joanna Rowsell and Jason Kenny will race at the Derby Arena.

The riders will take part to earn Rio 2016 Olympic qualifying points.

The three-day eventexternal-link starts at 19:00 BST with the women's team pursuit and individual pursuit.

The omnium, sprint and men's individual pursuit are held on Saturday, with the keirin and Madison on Sunday.

After Derby, the series visits Manchester in October then London and Glasgow in November, before concluding with two more rounds in Manchester in January.

Top Stories