Vuelta a Espana: Chris Froome loses time on summit finish

Bert-Jan Lindeman
Lindeman's victory is the Dutchman's first in a Grand Tour

Britain's Chris Froome lost time on his rivals on the first mountain test of the Vuelta a Espana.

Bert-Jan Lindeman won stage seven's summit finish as Tour de France champion Froome lost ground in the last two kilometres of the 19km ascent of Alto de Capileira.

He finished 27 seconds behind his rivals, who include Nairo Quintana.

Froome now trails Colombian leader Esteban Chaves by 82 seconds.

Chaves, who had not been earmarked as one of the favourites pre-race, finished in a group that contained compatriot Quintana and Spanish favourites Alejandro Valverde and Joaquim Rodriguez.

They finished 36 seconds behind Dutchman Lindeman.

Team Sky's Froome, who is aiming to become the third rider to win the Tour and Vuelta in the same year, had looked comfortable on the day's big mountain climb, which featured gradients of 14% towards the summit.

But when he cracked, Italy's Fabio Aru, another of the general classification contenders, immediately accelerated and finished seven seconds ahead of the group of favourites.

Chaves continues to lead Tom Dumoulin by 10 seconds, with Irish duo Dan Martin and Nicolas Roche 33 and 36 seconds back.

Valverde is the first of the big favourites, 49 seconds adrift of Chaves.

Stage eight is a flatter 182.5km from Puebla de Don Fadrique to Murcia.

Stage seven result:

1. Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned/LottoNL) 5hrs 10mins 24secs

2. Ilia Koshevoy (Bel/Lampre) +09secs

3. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) +29secs

4. Jerome Cousin (Fra/Europcar) +34secs

5. Rafal Majka (Pol/Tinkoff - Saxo) +36secs

6. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica)

7. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar)

8. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar)

9. Louis Meintjes (SA/Team MTN)

10. Nicolas Roche (Ire/Team Sky)


17. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +1min 03secs

General classification after stage seven:

1. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica) 27hrs 06mins 13secs

2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Giant) +10secs

3. Daniel Martin (Ire/Cannondale) +33secs

4. Nicolas Roche (Ire/Team Sky) +36secs

5. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +49secs

6. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +56secs

7. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +57secs

8. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana)

9. Daniel Moreno (Spa/Katusha) +1min 18secs

10. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/AG2R) +1min 19secs


12. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) +1min 22secs