Tour of Britain: British Cycling and Team Sky announce teams

Tao Geoghegan Hart
Tao Geoghegan Hart has joined Team Sky as an amateur but will race for British Cycling in the Tour of Britain

British Cycling and Team Sky have chosen their teams of six riders for the Tour of Britain, starting in Anglesey on Sunday.

Tao Geoghegan Hart, Hugh Carthy and Alex Peters are in the British Cycling team, along with academy riders Scott Davies, Gabz Cullaigh and Ollie Wood.

Team Sky are represented by four British riders - Ben Swift, Peter Kennaugh, Ian Stannard and Andrew Fenn.

Their line-up also includes Italian Elia Viviani and Dutchman Wout Poels.

Two-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome and Team Sky team-mate Geraint Thomas will not be appearing because they are competing in the Vuelta a Espana.

Former winner Sir Bradley Wiggins will lead his own Team Wiggins, competing for the first time, while sprinter Mark Cavendish will also ride, leading a strong Etixx-Quick Step team.

British Cycling's manager Keith Lambert said of his team: "I'm looking forward to seeing how they get on against the professional riders in the race."

Geoghegan Hart and Hugh Carthy finished first and second respectively in the Best Young Rider standings at the USA Pro Challenge, while Geoghegan Hart and Alex Peters have signed as amateurs for Team Sky.

The Tour of Britain race also takes in Colne, Edinburgh, Blyth, Stoke, Fakenham and Ipswich before ending in London on 13 September.

Top Stories