Vuelta a Espana: Nelson Oliveira wins 13th stage after breakaway

Portugal's Nelson Oliveira
Nelson Oliveira's Vuelta stage victory was his first on a Grand Tour

Portugal's Nelson Oliveira raced clear of a breakaway to secure a solo win on the 13th stage of the Vuelta a Espana, his first stage win on a Grand Tour.

The Lampre-Merida rider broke free with 30km remaining and held on to win the 178km stage from Calatayud to Tarazona.

Team Sky's Nicolas Roche was just beaten into third place by Frenchman Julien Simon in a sprint finish of the 23 remaining breakaway riders.

Italian Fabio Aru, 25, finished in the peloton to retain his overall lead.

His lead could come under threat on Saturday's mountainous 215km stage from Vitoria to the summit of Alto Campoo Fuente del Chivo.

The 21-stage Grand Tour finishes in Madrid on 13 September.

Stage 13 result:

1. Nelson Oliveira (Por/Lampre) 4 hrs 14mins 1sec

2. Julien Simon (Fra/Cofidis) +1min

3. Nicolas Roche (Ire/Team Sky) +1min

4. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra/IAM Cycling) +1min

5. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa/Movistar) +1min

6. Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita/AG2R) +1min

7. Kevin Reza (Fra/FDJ) +1min

8. Mikael Cherel (Fra/AG2R) +1min

9. Cameron Meyer (Aus/Orica) +1min

10. Maxime Monfort (Bel/Lotto) +1min

General classification after stage 13:

1. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) 51 hrs 33mins 19secs

2. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +27secs

3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Giant) +30secs

4. Rafal Majka (Pol/Tinkoff-Saxo) +1min 28secs

5. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica) +1min 29secs

6. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +1min 52secs

7. Daniel Moreno (Spa/Katusha) +1min 54secs

8. Mikel Nieve (Spa/Team Sky) +1min 58secs

9. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita/Etixx-Quick-Step) +2min 51secs

10. Romain Sicard (Fra/Europcar) +2min 51secs

Selected others:

16. Nicolas Roche (Ire/Team Sky) +9mins 38secs

59. Geraint Thomas (GB/Team Sky) +1hr 05mins 50secs