Tour of Britain: Petr Vakoc wins stage two to take overall lead

Tour of Britain
Petr Vakoc is the Czech national champion

Mark Cavendish's team-mate Petr Vakoc won Monday's second stage at the Tour of Britain to take the overall lead.

The 23-year-old Czech rider, of the Quick-Step team, went clear with 20km remaining of the 159.3km ride from Clitheroe to Colne in northern England.

Vakoc finished seven seconds ahead of Spain's Juan Jose Lobato, with Norway's Edvald Boasson Hagen third.

Team Wiggins rider Owain Doull was the best-placed Briton, finishing sixth, while Cavendish came 66th.

That means Cavendish is 21 minutes 53 seconds off the lead after two stages.

Four-time Olympic champion Sir Bradley Wiggins, who is using the event to prepare for the European Track Championships and Rio 2016, is a further 35 seconds behind.

Vakoc will start Tuesday's third stage from Cockermouth to Kelso in the yellow jersey with an 11-second advantage over Lobato.

Team Sky's Pete Kennaugh dropped from the top 10 to 39th overall after a 20-second time penalty for taking an illegal feed with under 15km to go in the stage.

Tour of Britain
Pete Williams, of ONE Pro Cycling, has secured the sprint jersey after the second stage of the Tour of Britain

Analysis from BBC Sport's Matt Slater:

"There were a lot of tired (and dare I say sun-kissed faces?) at the finish in Colne. Honorary Lancastrian Sir Bradley Wiggins said this stage through the Ribble and Pendle valleys would be tough and, for once this week, he was not kidding.

"Czech national champion Vakoc claimed the win, jumping clear from a high-quality group with 20km to go and then holding off a strong chasing pack. But there were also great rides by Preston's Ian Bibby, who is second in the King of the Mountains competition, and young British talent Alex Peters, who joins Team Sky next season.

"It was a slightly frustrating day, though, for some, as Ian Stannard punctured at a crucial moment and his fellow Tour de France stalwart Wout Poels was unable to stay with Vakoc. Team Sky still have plenty of cards to play, though, with Kennaugh, Poels and Ben Swift well placed and everybody here can now look forward to two slightly easier days in and out of Scotland. "

What the riders said:

Cavendish: "Some of those roads were very tough. But we've won with Vakoc, a storming ride, what a finish. I remember riding a criterium in Colne, it must have been 15 years ago, and there were about 10 people out watching. Now look at this. It's superb. It's just a joy to see everybody out enjoying it.

Doull: "It was a good day, a pretty hard day, but nice to get on the podium. The next two days should be easier than these first two days and hopefully I can get up there and into the points jerseys.

"It's pretty surreal (riding with Sir Bradley Wiggins). It's not every day you get an Olympic and Tour de France champion happily pulling on the front for you, and taking a few risks for you. It puts a bit of pressure on you, but it's good pressure. "

Kennaugh, on wearing the British champion's jersey: "I'm really proud. You don't realise how much the sport is growing, how interested people are until you come back here to race.

"They might have seen you at the British Nationals or on TV and they recognise you from that, it's so nice when they shout your name out. The general support is incredible and it's only going to get bigger."

Stage two result:

1. Petr Vakoc (Cze/Quick Step) 4hrs 02mins 22secs

2. Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa/Movistar) +7secs

3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor/MTN-Qhubeka) +9secs

4. Rasmus Guldhammer Pedersen (Den/Cult Energy Pro Cycling) Same time

5. Matteo Trentin (Ita/Quick Step)

6. Owain Doull (GB/Team Wiggins)

7. Jens Debusschere (Bel/Lotto-Soudal)

8. Dylan Teuns (Bel/BMC Racing)

9. Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (Spa/Movistar)

10. Javier Mejias Leal (Spa/Novo Nordisk)

Selected others:

66. Mark Cavendish (GB/Quick Step) +21mins 53secs

106. Sir Bradley Wiggins (GB/Team Wiggins) Same time

General classification after stage two:

1. Petr Vakoc (Cze/Quick Step) 8hrs 28mins 41secs

2. Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa/Movistar) +11secs

3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor/MTN-Qhubek) +15secs

4. Floris Gerts (Ned/BMC Racing) +17secs

5. Wouter Poels (Ned/Team Sky) +18secs

6. Dylan van Baarle (Ned/Cannondale-Garmin) Same time

7. Owain Doull (GB/Team Wiggins) +19secs

8. Graham Briggs (GB/JLT Condor) Same time

9. Rasmus Guldhammer Pedersen (Den/Cult Energy Pro Cycling)

10. Serge Pauwels (Bel/MTN-Qhubeka) +25secs

Selected others:

66. Mark Cavendish (GB/Quick Step) +21mins 57secs

105. Sir Bradley Wiggins (GB/Team Wiggins) +22mins 32secs

Top Stories