Herald Sun Tour: Peter Kennaugh leads from Chris Froome

Chris Froome (right) leads team-mate Peter Kennaugh (left) through rural Victoria during stage three of the Herald Sun Tour.
Chris Froome (right) is 13 seconds behind Peter Kennaugh (left)

Britain's Peter Kennaugh retained the leader's yellow jersey in the penultimate stage of the Herald Sun Tour in Australia.

His Team Sky team-mate and fellow Brit Chris Froome is second, 13 seconds behind, heading into the final stage.

American sprinter John Murphy won the 146.2km stage three from Traralgon to Inverloch in a photo-finish.

Sunday's final stage ends with a climb to the summit of the 314m Arthurs Seat on the Mornington Peninsula, Victoria.

And Froome believes his compatriot can hold onto the lead. He said: "I'm pretty sure he'll be all right. He's in good nick and he's feeling good.

"It would be massive. It would be a great win for him, a great win for the team so that's the plan."

Kennaugh, though, said he was well aware of the threat posed by the riders just behind him - not least, Froome.

"If Froome's feeling super-good he'll be up for anything," said the 26-year-old.

"He can have an attack, he can do what he wants but I'm sure we'll have a strategy by tomorrow and take it from there."

Stage three result:

1. John Murphy (US/United Healthcare) 3hrs 20mins 52secs

2. Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita/Trek) same time

3. Steele von Hoff (Aus/ONE)

4. Jesse Kerrison (Aus/State of Matter)

5. Anthony Giacoppo (Aus/Avanti IsoWhey)

6. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Orica-GreenEdge)

7. Neil van der Ploeg (Aus/Avanti IsoWhey)

8. Daniele Colli (Ita/Nippo)

9. Alistair Donohoe (Aus/Australia)

10. Luke Rowe (GB/Team Sky)

Overall classification after stage three:

1. Peter Kennaugh (GB/Team Sky) 9hrs 54mins 13secs

2. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +13secs

3. Jack Bobridge (Aus/Trek) +31secs

4. Jack Haig (Aus/Orica-GreenEdge) +48secs

5. Dion Smith (NZ/ONE) +52secs

6. Damien Howson (Aus/Orica-GreenEdge) +53secs

7. Anthony Giacoppo (Aus/Avanti IsoWhey) +54secs

8. Robbie Hucker (Aus/Avanti IsoWhey) same time

9. Patrick Shaw (Aus/Avanti IsoWhey) +55secs

10. Joseph Cooper (NZ/Avanti IsoWhey) same time.