Track Cycling World Championships: GB tops medal table

Guilty pleasures and superstitions

Great Britain topped the medal table at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in London.

The haul included five golds out of a total of nine medals at the Lee Valley VeloPark.

The competition got under way on Wednesday with the men's and women's team sprints, plus the women's individual pursuit and men's scratch races.

Laura Trott won GB's first gold of the event on Thursday with victory in the scratch race, while Sir Bradley Wiggins and the British men's pursuit team picked up silver and Becky James sealed bronze in the keirin.

Friday saw Jon Dibben win gold in the men's points race, while bronze medals went to the women's team pursuit squad as well as Andy Tennant in the men's individual pursuit.

On Saturday there was a further gold medal for Great Britain as Jason Kenny won the men's sprint.

Trott topped the first day of the women's omnium with the completion of the event on Sunday, while Mark Cavendish finished sixth in the men's omnium.

The final day - Sunday - saw two further golds for Great Britain.

Trott continued to top the women's omnium to take GB's fourth gold medal and the combined team of Wiggins and Cavendish took the final gold in the men's madison.

Full event scheduleexternal-link


2016 Track Cycling World Championships medal table
Great Britain5139
New Zealand0101
United States0011

Day five - report and video highlights

Women's omnium: 1. Laura Trott (GB) 214 points, 2. Laurie Berthon (Fra) 183 points, 3. Sarah Hammer (US) 182 points, 4. Allison Beveridge (Can) 159 points.

Men's keirin: 1. Joachim Eilers (Ger), 2. Edward Dawkins (NZ) +0.002, 3. Azizulhasni Awang (Mas) +0.068, 4. Maximilian Levy (Ger) +0.266.

Women's sprint: 1. Tianshi Zhong (Chn), 2. Lin Junhong (Chn), 3. Kristina Vogel (Ger), 4. Anna Meares (Aus).

Men's madison: 1. Great Britain 21 points, 2. France 14 points, 3. Spain 12 points, 4. Switzerland 11 points.

Day four - report and video highlights

Women's points race: 1. Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) 15 points, 2. Jasmin Glaesser (Can) 14 points, 3. Arlenis Sierra Canadilla (Cub) 14 points, 4. Georgia Baker (Aus) 13 points

Men's omnium: 1. Fernando Gaviria Rendon (Col) 191 points, 2. Roger Kluge (Ger) 191 points, 3. Glenn O'Shea (Aus) 191 points, 4. Elia Viviani (Ita) 189 points.

Men's sprint: 1. Jason Kenny (GB), 2. Matthew Glaetzer (Aus), 3. Denis Dmitriev (Rus), 4. Damian Zielinski (Pol)

Day three - report and video highlights

Men's individual pursuit: 1. Filippo Ganna (Ita) 4min 16.141sec, 2. Domenic Weinstein (Ger) 4:18.275, 3. Andy Tennant (GB) 4:18.301, 4. Owain Doull (GB) 4:18.476

Men's 40km Points Race: 1. Jon Dibben (GB) 48 pts, 2. Andreas Graf (Aut) 48, 3. Kenny De Ketele (Bel) 43

Women's team pursuit: 1. USA 4:16.802, 2. CAN 4:19.525, 3. GB 4:16.540

500m time-trial: 1. Anastasiia Voinova (Rus) 32.959sec, 2. Wai Sze Lee (HK) 33.736, 3. Elis Ligtlee (Ned) 33.760

Day two - report and video highlights

Men's kilo time trial final: 1. Joachim Eilers (Ger) 1min 00.042secs, 2. Theo Bos (Ned) 1:00.461, 3. Quentin Lafargue (Fra) 1:01.581

Men's team pursuit final: 1. Australia 3mins 52.727secs, 2. Great Britain 3:53.856, 3. Denmark 3:55.936, 4. Italy 3:58.262

Women's keirin final: 1. Kristina Vogel (Ger) 11.276secs, 2. Anna Meares (Aus) at 0.078, 3. Rebecca James (GB) at 0.106

Women's scratch race final: 1. Laura Trott (GB), 2. Kirsten Wild (Ned), 3. Stephanie Roorda (Can)

Day one - report and video highlights

Men's team sprint: 1. New Zealand 43.257sec 2. Netherlands 43.469 3. Germany 43.536 4. France 43.577

Men's 15km scratch: 1. Sebastian Mora Vedri (Spn) 16:36, 2. Ignacio Prado (Mex), 3. Claudio Imhof (Swi)

Women's team sprint: 1. Russia 33.871sec 2. China DQ 3. Germany 33.740 4. Australia 33.871

Women's individual sprint: 1. Rebecca Wiasak (Aus) 3min 34.099sec 2. Malgorzata Wojtyra 3:41.904 (Pol) 3. Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can) 3:36.055 4. Ruth Winder (US) 3:39.902

Full medal tableexternal-link

GB squad

Women's sprint: Becky James, Katy Marchant, Jess Varnish.

Men's sprint: Matt Crampton, Phil Hindes, Jason Kenny, Callum Skinner.

Women's endurance: Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne, Emily Nelson, Joanna Rowsell Shand, Laura Trott.

Men's endurance: Steven Burke, Mark Cavendish, Ed Clancy, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Chris Latham, Andy Tennant, Sir Bradley Wiggins.

Coverage changes

Fixtures and event start times are subject to change. The BBC is not responsible for any changes that may be made. Also, coverage on BBC Red Button can be subject to late schedule changes, so details may differ from this page.

National and regional variations

National and regional variations have been included in this list where possible. Please check your local listings for more detailed information.


You can view all our TV and Red Button broadcasts as well as listen to our radio sports programming on the BBC iPlayer.