E3 Harelbeke: Team Sky's Michal Kwiatkowski wins, Ian Stannard third

(l-r) Peter Sagan, Michal Kwiatkowski and Ian Stannard
Stannard (right) established his one-day credentials with victories in the 2014 and 2015 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad races

Britain's Ian Stannard finished third in the E3 Harelbeke one-day race as his Team Sky team-mate Michal Kwiatkowski beat Peter Sagan to the title.

Kwiatkowski, the 2014 world champion, sprinted away from reigning rainbow jersey wearer Sagan in the final 300m to win the 206km race by three seconds.

Stannard led the bunch over the line 11 seconds adrift of his Polish team-mate.

It was a second successive victory in the Belgian race for Team Sky after Britain's Geraint Thomas won last year.

The riders observed a minute's silence at the start of the race in memory of victims of the Brussels bombings.


1. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol/Team Sky) 4hrs 55mins 18secs

2. Peter Sagan (Svk/Tinkoff) +3secs

3. Ian Stannard (GB/Team Sky) +11secs

4. Fabian Cancellara (Swi/Trek) Same time

5. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek)

Top Stories