BDO World Championship: Adams has 'upper hand' over Mitchell

BDO world champion Martin Adams
Adams is making a record 19th appearance at the Lakeside

Defending champion Martin Adams says he will have the "upper hand" against Scott Mitchell in the first round of the BDO World Championship.

Adams, who beat Mitchell at the Dutch Open in November, is bidding for a record-equalling third successive Lakeside crown, and fourth overall.

"He's going to be a tough opponent," number one seed Adams told BBC Sport.

"It's always nice to know that you've still got the upper hand, but you've got to keep that upper hand."

Adams, at 55 the oldest player in the 32-man field, beat Dean Winstanley 7-5 in last year's final to retain the title he first lifted in 2007.

If he wins for a third successive year in a record-breaking 19th appearance at the Lakeside, Adams will match Eric Bristow, who triumphed in 1984, 1985 and 1986.

"It would be immense for me, because I'd be able to equal another darting record and also set myself up to better that record," Adams added.

"I've got my eyes on three on the spin for the Lakeside and hopefully I can better it in 2013.

"It gets harder to keep winning there - there's always 31 other players that want to stop you - but it gets easier to be the defending champion when you've successfully defended championships in the past.

"Having defended it successfully, it is a bit easier to go up and play. You can take it game by game and you want to win the same as you did the previous year."

Adams is second to the oche on the opening afternoon, with 2009 runner-up Tony O'Shea beginning his campaign against Steve West later on Saturday.

On Sunday, two-time champion Ted Hankey meets Clive Barden, while second seed Scott Waites takes on Andy Boulton.

Winstanley completes the first-round line-up when he meets Dutchman Joey ten Berge on Monday.

BDO World Championship first-round draw

Ron Meulenkamp (Ned) v Gary Stone (Sco)

Martin Adams (Eng) v Scott Mitchell (Eng)

Ross Montgomery (Sco) v Fabian Roosenbrand (Ned)

Tony O'Shea (Eng) v Steve West (Eng)

Paul Jennings (Eng) v Garry Thompson (Eng)

Gary Robson (Eng) v Steve Douglas (Eng)

Wesley Harms (Ned) v Martin Phillips (Wal)

Robbie Green (Eng) v Darryl Fitton (Eng)

Ted Hankey (Eng) v Clive Barden (Eng)

Scott Waites (Eng) v Andy Boulton (Eng)

Willy van de Wiel (Ned) v Dave Prins (Eng)

John Walton (Eng) v Martin Atkins (Eng)

Tony West (Eng) v Geert de Vos (Bel)

Jan Dekker (Ned) v Christian Kist (Ned)

Benito van de Pas (Ned) v Alan Norris (Eng)

Dean Winstanley (Eng) v Joey ten Berge (Ned)

Top Stories