Phil Taylor wins sixth Premier League Darts title

Phil Taylor

Stoke-on-Trent's Phil Taylor claimed a record sixth Premier League Darts title, beating Simon Whitlock 10-7 in the final at London's O2 Arena.

The 15-times world champion led 7-2 and saw off a late Whitlock fightback to claim the £150,000 winner's cheque.

"It feels fantastic to be the Premier League champion again," said Taylor.

Whitlock had earlier hit a nine-dart finish in his last-four win over Andy Hamilton, while Taylor beat James Wade to progress to the final.

Taylor, 51, lost in the semi-finals last year and he said: "It was a massive night for all four of us in the semi-finals and, in many ways, it was a strange final.

"The semi-final took a lot of out me because, for some reason, I was nervous and it was a real battle against James.

"Simon had put in a huge effort too in his game and maybe that showed in the final.

"Simon came back brilliantly but I think that used up a lot of his energy. Even when he got level (at 7-7) I knew that I had the throw and just had to keep myself steady. Thankfully, I came through."

Top Stories