Phil Taylor draws Michael Mansell at PDC World Championship

Phil Taylor

England's 15-time winner Phil Taylor has been drawn against Michael Mansell in the first round of the PDC World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace.

Taylor, 52, who last won the title in 2010, is the number one seed for the event which takes place between 14 December and 1 January.

England's Adrian Lewis, who has won the title for the last two years, faces debutant Gino Vos of the Netherlands.

The event has a new trophy, named after the late darts commentator Sid Waddell.

Number three seed James Wade will take on debutant Peter Hudson while Dutch five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld meets promising youngster Michael Smith, 22.

"Because it's a tough first round, I'll make sure I get myself mentally right for it," Taylor told BBC Sport. "Sometimes a tough first round sets you up for the rest of the tournament."

First Round draw (seeding in brackets):

Phil Taylor (1) v Michael Mansell

Wayne Jones (32) v Jerry Hendriks

Paul Nicholson (16) v Co Stompe

Robert Thornton (17) v Magnus Caris

Andy Hamilton (8) v James Richardson

Richie Burnett (25) v James Hubbard

Terry Jenkins (9) v Steve Brown

John Part (24) v Joe Cullen

Simon Whitlock (5) v Muramatsu/Harrington

Colin Osborne (28) v Ilagan/Lewis

Dave Chisnall (12) v Shane Tichowitsch

Andy Smith (21) v Gurney/Marijanovic

Gary Anderson (4) v Komula/Haavisto

Jamie Caven (29) v Rodriguez/Bowles

Raymond van Barneveld (13) v Michael Smith

Brendan Dolan (20) v Mark Jones

Adrian Lewis (2) v Gino Vos

Denis Ovens (31) v Hopp/Pietersen

Kevin Painter (15) v Welge/Chun Nam

Ronnie Baxter (18) v Dennis Priestley

Michael van Gerwen (7) v Lim/Latif Sapup

Peter Wright (26) v Arron Monk

Mark Webster (10) v Ian White

Colin Lloyd (23) v Darin Young

Wes Newton (6) v Johnny Haines

Kim Huybrechts (27) v Scott Rand

Justin Pipe (11) v Andy Jenkins

Mark Walsh (22) v Darren Webster

James Wade (3) v Peter Hudson

Steve Beaton (30) v Kyle Anderson

Mervyn King (14) v Dean Winstanley

Vincent van der Voort (19) v Stuart Kellett