Premier League Darts: Phil Taylor & Michael van Gerwen win in Newcastle

Phil Taylor and James Wade
Phil Taylor (left) is aiming to win the Premier League for a seventh time

Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen bounced back from week one defeats to achieve their first Premier League wins of 2016 in Newcastle on Thursday.

World number one Van Gerwen, 26, beat reigning PDC world champion Gary Anderson 7-3, while 55-year-old Taylor eased past James Wade 7-1.

Both players posted three-dart averages above 111 in their victories.

Meanwhile, England's Adrian Lewis and Scotland's Peter Wright maintained their 100% starts to the event.

Lewis beat Dave Chisnall 7-4, while Wright edged to a 7-5 victory over Dutchman Raymond van Barneveld.

Wade, who overcame Van Gerwen in the opening round of the tournament in Leeds seven days earlier, played twice in Newcastle as Robert Thornton was unable to compete because of illness.

Left-hander Wade inflicted a 7-4 defeat on Premier League debutant Michael Smith, who has lost all three of his matches in the round-robin stage so far.

Premier League results - round two

James Wade 7-4 Michael Smith

Raymond van Barneveld 5-7 Peter Wright

Adrian Lewis 7-4 Dave Chisnall

Gary Anderson 3-7 Michael van Gerwen

James Wade 1-7 Phil Taylor