Premier League Darts: Michael van Gerwen gets first win in Nottingham

Michael van Gerwen
Michael van Gerwen won his second PDC world title in January

World champion Michael van Gerwen is one of five players with an unbeaten record after two rounds of the 2017 Premier League.

But no player has won their opening two games after Phil Taylor, James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld all drew in Nottingham.

Van Gerwen beat Peter Wright, the only other player who won his first match of the tournament, 7-3.

Two-time ex-winner Gary Anderson beat Jelle Klaasen by the same scoreline.

Adrian Lewis registered his first points by beating Dave Chisnall, while Wade and Taylor were involved in the first of Thursday's two drawn encounters.

Belgium's Kim Huybrechts secured his first point of the competition with a 6-6 draw against Van Barneveld, who won the Premier League in 2014.

Premier League - round two results

Adrian Lewis (Eng) 7-2 Dave Chisnall (Eng)

James Wade (Eng) 6-6 Phil Taylor (Eng)

Jelle Klaasen (Ned) 3-7 Gary Anderson (Sco)

Peter Wright (Sco) 3-7 Michael van Gerwen (Ned)

Kim Huybrechts (Bel) 6-6 Raymond van Barneveld (Ned)

Top Stories