Premier League Darts: Michael van Gerwen's TV run ended by Raymond van Barneveld

Raymond van Barneveld
Raymond van Barneveld lost to Michael van Gerwen in the PDC World Championship semi-finals in January

Raymond van Barneveld ended Michael van Gerwen's record unbeaten run on television during an eventful Premier League round eight in Manchester.

World champion Van Gerwen, 27, had set a new record of 44 televised games without defeat by beating James Wade.

That win and Peter Wright's loss to Phil Taylor left Van Gerwen one point clear at the top of the table.

But Van Gerwen then lost 7-5 to fellow Dutchman Van Barneveld, who missed double 12 for a nine-dart finish.

It was Van Gerwen's first defeat on television since losing to Taylor in the final of the Champions League of Darts in September and his new record passed the mark set by Taylor between November 2004 and July 2005.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Highlights: Dominant Taylor wins in Cardiff

The defending Premier League champion was in action twice in Manchester, having missed round five in Exeter with a back injury.

Elsewhere, Belgium's Kim Huybrechts and Jelle Klaasen of the Netherlands were eliminated from the competition following defeats by Gary Anderson and Adrian Lewis respectively.

The pair will appear for the final time in Cardiff on 30 March, before the field is reduced to eight players.

Premier League - round eight results

Michael van Gerwen (Ned) 7-4 James Wade (Eng)

Kim Huybrechts (Bel) 2-7 Gary Anderson (Sco)

Peter Wright (Sco) 5-7 Phil Taylor (Eng)

Jelle Klaasen (Ned) 5-7 Adrian Lewis (Eng)

Raymond van Barneveld (Ned) 7-5 Michael van Gerwen (Ned)

Top Stories