Champions League of Darts: BBC to broadcast tournament until 2019

Phil Taylor celebrates after winning the inaugural Champions League of Darts
Phil Taylor is a 16-time world champion

The Champions League of Darts will be broadcast live on the BBC until 2019 under a new deal with the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC).

Phil Taylor beat Michael van Gerwen to secure the £100,000 first prize at the inaugural eight-player event in Cardiff in September 2016.

The 2017 Champions League of Darts returns to Cardiff on 16-17 September.

A change to the qualifying criteria will guarantee that the reigning champion returns to defend his title.

"The Champions League of Darts was a massive success last year," PDC chairman Barry Hearn said.

"This new deal is a reflection of how delighted the BBC were to have the very best players in the sport on terrestrial TV."

Media playback is not supported on this device

Highlights: Dominant Taylor wins in Cardiff

Top Stories