GB name strong team for Para-Cycling World Championships

Darren Kenny
Darren Kenny will be hoping to add to his successes in Denmark

Paralympic champions Darren Kenny, Rachel Morris, David Stone and Sarah Storey have all been included in the British team for next month's UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships.

The competition in Denmark from 8-11 September is the last major road event before the 2012 Paralympics.

Also included are World Championship debutants Mark Colbourne, Simon Price and Crystal Lane.

Strong performances could see them make their Paralympic debut in London.

As well as the experience of the quartet of Paralympic champions, the 13-strong team also features Shaun McKeown and Karen Darke, who have shown strong form in the World Cup races over the summer.

Team Manager Gareth Sheppard said: "These World Championships are the final opportunity to measure our performance against that of the international field.

"We have selected a squad that is capable of bringing home many medals and scoring as many qualification points as possible. We have also given a number of up-and-coming athletes vying for a spot on the London 2012 road team an opportunity to prove themselves at the highest level."

Most of the GB riders will compete in both the time trial and the road race in Denmark.

GB team: Mark Colbourne, Jody Cundy, Karen Darke, Darren Kenny, Crystal Lane, Shaun McKeown, Rachel Morris, Simon Price, David Stone, Sarah Storey, Lora Turnham (pilot Louise Haston), Rik Waddon.

Top Stories