London 2012: Paralympic veteran Jim Anderson gets sixth call

Paralympics GB swimmer Jim Anderson

Jim Anderson will compete in his sixth Paralympics after the GB swimming team for London 2012 was finalised.

Anderson, who won four golds in Athens in 2004, was one of 26 nominees to be told they could take part.

But he can compete after the International Paralympic Committee confirmed the number of slots made available for the team.

The 26 will join 16 swimmers, including double Paralympic gold medallist Ellie Simmonds, selected in April.

ParalympicsGB chef de mission Craig Hunter said: "This team is one of the strongest we have ever fielded and it has genuine strength in depth across all 44 athletes.

"I have every confidence in the people we have selected and I am excited to see how all these outstanding swimmers perform in just under 100 day's time."

Confirmed selected: James Crisp (Sheffield), Jessica Applegate (Great Yarmouth), Jonathan Fox (Cornwall), Claire Cashmore (Leeds), Oliver Hynd (Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire), Chloe Davies (Midsomer Norton, Somerset), Sascha Kindred (Hereford), Heather Frederiksen (Leigh, Lancashire), Aaron Moores (Trowbridge, Wiltshire), Rhiannon Henry (Manchester), Andrew Mullen (Glasgow), Susannah Rodgers (London), Matthew Walker (Stockport), Hannah Russell (Chertsey, Surrey), Robert Welbourn (Swansea), Eleanor Simmonds (Swansea), James Anderson (Broxburn, West Lothian), Gemma Almond (Shrewsbury), Jack Bridge (R) (Preston), Charlotte Henshaw (Mansfield, Nottinghamshire), Josef Craig (R) (Tyne and Wear), Emma Hollis (Epping, Essex), Graham Edmunds (R) (Swansea), Elizabeth Johnson (Bath), Sean Fraser (R) (Manchester), Natalie Jones (Chorley, Lancashire), James Hollis (R) (Epping, Essex), Nyree Kindred (Hereford), Sam Hynd (Swansea), Harriet Lee (Peterborough), James O'Shea (Newcastle), Amy Marren (R) (Hornchurch, Essex), Daniel Pepper (Stockport), Natalie Massey (Stockport), Benjamin Procter (Newquay), Stephanie Millward (Swansea), Craig Rodgie (Dunfermline), Lauren Steadman (R) (Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire), Anthony Stephens (Highbridge, Somerset), Louise Watkin (Leigh, Lancashire), Matthew Whorwood (Newquay, Cornwall), and Thomas Young (Manchester).