World Para-athletics Championships: Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop win gold medals

Michael McKillop successfully defended his world T38 800m title
Michael McKillop successfully defended his world T38 800m title
World Para-athletics Championships
Location: London Stadium, London Dates: Friday 14 July - Sunday 23 July
Coverage: Commentary on BBC Radio 5 live, BBC World Service and live updates on the BBC Sport website and app

Ireland athletes Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop secured gold medals at the World Para-athletics Championships at London Stadium.

Smyth clinched a fourth world title in the T13 100m, winning his final in emphatic fashion against a marginal head wind in a time of 10.63 seconds.

Glengormley runner McKillop was well clear of the field in 2:00.93 to continue his dominance of the T38 800m.

The pair will also take in the 200m and 1500m respectively later in the week.

World record holder Smyth, from Eglinton, came home ahead of Polish sprinter Mateusz Michalski, who was second in 10.95.

Brazilian Gustavo Henrique Araujo was disqualified for a false start but the field got away cleanly at the second attempt.

Chad Perris of Australia took third behind Smyth and Michalski in 10.96.

Jason Smyth raced to a comfortable victory in the T13 100m
Jason Smyth raced to a comfortable victory in the T13 100m

The County Londonderry man will compete in the 200m heats on Monday evening, with the final on Tuesday night.

The visually-impaired athlete was a double Paralympic gold medallist at the same stadium in 2012 and has a career best of 10.22 seconds in able-bodied competition and a world record of 10.46 for Paralympic competition.

Smyth, who recently turned 30, has been unbeaten at Paralympic level since beginning his international career at the 2005 European Championships.

Since 2012, the Eglinton man's track times have been slowed by injury but he has remained far too good for the opposition at Paralympic level - most recently last year's Rio Games when he took a third successive 100m gold.

Defending champion McKillop ran a good tactical race to maintain his unbeaten run in the 800m, bettering his time in the heats by almost seven seconds.

Australian Deon Kenzie, leader at halfway, was second in 2:02.15, with Saidi Abbes of Tunisia clinching bronze in 2:02.38.

Canada's Liam Stanley, the fastest qualifier, was denied a medal when he fell to the track just short of the finishing line.

McKillop, who also won two gold medals in London five years ago, will defend his T37 1500m title on Saturday 22 July.

NI athletes London timetable
Friday, 14 JulyM McKillop (T38 800m heats, 20:25 BST
Sunday, 16 JulySmyth (T13 100m heats 11:30, final 21:06)McKillop (T38 800m final, 21:15
Monday, 17 JulySmyth (T13 200m heats, 19:10)J Hamilton (T20 1500m final, 21:05
Tuesday, 18 JulySmyth (T13 200m final, 19:55
Friday, 21 JulyHamilton (T20 800m heats, 20:13)
Saturday, 22 JulyMcKillop (T37 1500m final, 19:50)Hamilton (T20 800m final, 20:30)

Top Stories