Oxfordshire Sports Awards 2012: Andy Triggs Hodge nominated

Andy Triggs Hodge

Olympic gold medallist Andy Triggs Hodge is among the star names nominated in this year's annual Oxfordshire Sports Awards.

Hodge who won rowing gold in the men's four in August is nominated in the sportsman of the year category along with Lawrence Clarke and Jack Brooks.

Paralympic gold medallist Lily van der Broecke is also nominated in the sportswoman of the year category.

And after winning promotion to Blue Square Bet North, Oxford City find themselves among those nominated for team of the year.

Manager Mike Ford said the award was fully deserved after their exploits last season.

"It's a great honour," Ford told BBC Radio Oxford.

"I'm a firm believer that if you work hard then you get the rewards and just to be nominated alongside some fantastic teams is an honour in itself."

Oxford City are up against Bicester Hockey Club Ladies first team and Oxfordshire Ladies Cricket team and Ford admits his side are up against some tough opposition.

"I'm sure whoever win will go away worthy of the trophy," he said.

"This is the biggest season in the club's history and we have worked so hard to get into the Conference North. To stay in the league is my sole objective."

2012 FinalistsSport
Club of the Year
Banbury RUFCRugby
Challow Netball ClubNetball
Higher Energy Trampoline ClubGymnastics
Coach of the Year
Tessa HornNetball
Yolanda OwenNetball
Jane ParkinsonBadminton
Disability Sports Award
Rosie BancroftSwimming
Andrew GardinerGolf
Witney Wolves Inclusive TAG Rugby TeamRugby
Junior Sportsperson of the Year
Holly LayRifle Shooting
Elliot HarveyKarting
Michael WakelinSkater Hockey
Junior Sports Team of the Year
Wallingford Rowing ClubSculling
Banbury U13s Girls Cricket TeamCricket
Team Cherwell Junior Triathlon TeamVarious
Sportsman of the Year
Andrew Triggs HodgeRowing
Lawrence ClarkeAthletics
Jack BrooksCricket
Sportswoman of the Year
Lily van der BroeckeRowing
Dawn WilliamsTriathlon
Kathy HawesBowls
Unsung Hero
Paul DuesterCricket
Chris BazeleyAthletics
Shirley JohnsonFootball
Young Volunteer
Ben WebbCycling
Tom GuntripCricket
Amy CooperAthletics
Sports Team of the Year
Bicester Hockey Club Ladies 1st TeamHockey
Oxford City Football ClubFootball
Oxfordshire Ladies Cricket TeamCricket