Hickstead Derby: Trevor Breen wins on Loughnatousa WB

Trevor Breen
Trevor Breen on Loughnatousa WB at Hickstead

Irish rider Trevor Breen won the Hickstead Derby for the second year running on a day of doubles as he triumphed this time on Loughnatousa WB.

He was the only competitor to put in a clear round at the West Sussex venue aboard a horse who won in 2012 for Breen's compatriot Paul Beecher.

Breen made history last year when he became the first rider to win Hickstead on a one-eyed horse.

He guided Adventure de Kannan to victory in 2014.

Buckinghamshire-based Breen said: "It is an unbelievable feeling.

"I was riding two past Derby winners today in Loughnatousa and Adventure De Kannan (equal seventh), so I felt that I had a shout.

"It is a sweet win. Paul Beecher produced him (Loughnatousa) and rode him, and it is super for the horse to win again.

"To win the Derby once is a dream come true, so to win it twice feels a bit surreal."

Hickstead Derby 2015
Breen, who collects a winner's prize of nearly £33,000, is the first rider since Nick Skelton in 1987 and 1988 to win the Derby in successive years on different horses
There was a five-way tie for second spot - William Whitaker (Glenavadra Brilliant), Billy Twomey (Diaghilev), Steven Franks (Carlow Cruiser), Nigel Coupe (Golvers Hill) and Harriet Nuttall (A Touch Imperious) each collected four faults