Ten clubs granted Welsh Premier League domestic licence

Welsh Premier
Nine of the ten successful clubs are current members of the League

Nine Welsh Premier League clubs have been granted a domestic licence but Llanelli, Neath and Bala's applications were rejected.

The Football Association of Wales Club Licensing First Instance Body assessed nineteen applications.

The Domestic Licence, which was introduced last season, is required for every club to maintain their status.

Of the ten licenses granted, nine clubs are current members of the league in addition to Llandudno.

The successful clubs were Aberystwyth Town, Airbus UK Broughton, Bangor City, Carmarthen Town, Haverfordwest County, Newtown, Port Talbot Town, Prestatyn Town, The New Saints and Llandudno of the Cymru Alliance.

The nine clubs have also secured their Uefa licences, which will enable them to take part in either the Champions League or Europa League if they qualify.

However three other Welsh Premier League sides; Bala Town, Llanelli and Neath were unsuccessful in securing a domestic licence, although they have the option to appeal against that decision.

The appeals will be heard by an independent panel later this month while Llanelli and Neath have 10 days to appeal against their unsuccessful Uefa licensing applications.

Top Stories