Welsh Premier clubs gain licence reprieve

Welsh Premier
All current Welsh Premier clubs have secured the domestic FAW licences

Welsh Premier clubs Neath and Llanelli have had their Football Association of Wales and Uefa licences granted after winning their independent appeals.

Uefa Cup qualifiers Neath are now clear to play in Europe after finishing third while Llanelli can join them if they beat Bangor in the Welsh Cup final.

But Newtown and Bala have been spared the threat of Welsh Premier relegation.

As Cymru Alliance champions Connah's Quay have been denied promotion as their licence appeal was rejected.

Leaders Connah's Quay has their initial application rejected and now their subsequent appeal to the independent club licensing appeals body has been turned down.

So only bottom club Haverfordwest will go down from Wales' top-flight after Bala had their domestic licence awarded on appeal.

Welsh League high-fliers Afan Lido also had their domestic licence granted.

"All candidates for Uefa places through the league or the Welsh Cup or the play-offs have obtained the required UEFA Licence for 2011/12," said a Welsh FA statement.

"All current Welsh Premier League clubs have achieved the domestic licence for 2011/12."

The FAW had initially awarded domestic and Uefa licenses to Aberystwyth Town, Airbus UK Broughton, Bangor City, Carmarthen Town, Haverfordwest County, Newtown, Port Talbot Town, Prestatyn Town, The New Saints and Llandudno of the Cymru Alliance.