More awards for Izaguirre, Goodwillie and Paatelainen

David Goodwillie, Mixu Paatelainen and Emilio Izaguirre celebrate their Scottish Football Writers Association awards
Goodwillie, Paatelainen and Izaguirre each added to their awards collection

Celtic's Emilio Izaguirre and Dundee United's David Goodwillie have each completed a clean sweep of awards.

Izaguirre was named player of the year by Scotland's football writers and Goodwillie won the young player prize.

The pair had previously picked up the corresponding awards in the PFA Scotland and Clydesdale Bank Premier League awards ceremonies.

Mixu Paatelainen, the former Kilmarnock boss, picked up the writers' manager of the year award.

The Finn, who departed Rugby Park to take charge of his country's national side in March, adds this latest accolade to his Clydesdale Bank Premier League award in the same category from earlier this month.

Before leaving Killie, Paatelainen established the Ayrshire side as a top six Scottish Premier League outfit who finished fifth under caretaker Kenny Shiels.

Honduran left-back Izaguirre has enjoyed an impressive first season in Scottish football, helping Celtic finish second in the league and reach both domestic cup finals.

Goodwillie scored his 18th goal of the season in United's final match of the season, the 2-1 win over Hearts at Tannadice.

Top Stories