LuaLua left out of DR Congo squad

By Patrice CiteraBBC Sport, Kinshasa
DR Congo's Lomana LuaLua in action for his former side Olympiakos of Greece
Former Olympiakos striker Lomana LuaLua is out of the DR Congo squad

Lomana Lualua has been left out of DR Congo's 22-man squad to travel to Mauritius next month for a 2012 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier.

The former Newcastle striker was recalled by coach Robert Nouzaret, after more than a year out of the squad, for their last 2012 qualifier.

Nouzaret, who is out of the country, has not explained LuaLua's absence.

LuaLua helped Omonia Nicosia win the Cyrpus Cup on Wednesday by beating holders Apollon Limassol.

The coach has also gone through with his pledge not to pick Wolfsburg's Dieumerci Mbokani, Larry Mabiala and Cedric Mongongu.

The trio all missed March's Nations Cup qualifying win over Mauritius after a disagreement with the coach when he told them they would only be on the substitute's bench for the game in Kinshasa.

At the time Nouzaret pointed out that Mbokani has had disciplinary problems in the past and added that none of the players would be picked again as long as he is the coach.

West Bromwich Albion midfielder Yousouf Mulumbu is one of 11 Europe-based players in the squad.

There are also a total of seven players from the African Champions TP Mazembe on the list.


Goalkeepers: Kidiaba Muteba Robert (TP Mazembe), Mandanda Parfait (Altay, Turkey), Matampi Vumi Leya (DC Motema Pembe)

Defenders: Nkulukuta Miala Eric (TP Mazembe), Dikaba Rodrigue (Beauvais, France), Kimuaki Joel (TP Mazembe), Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe), Mulemo Landry (Bucaspor, Turkey), Ebunga Simbi (Vita Club), Tsholola Tshinyama (Lokeren, Belgium), Kinkela Christian (Ajaccio, France)

Midfielders: Ngassanya Ilongo (DC Motema Pembe), DR Congo), Milambo Mutamba (Beauvais, France), Mulumbu Youssouf (West Bromwich Albion, England), Bedi Mbenza (TP Mazembe), Matumona Zola (Mons, Belgium), Makiadi Cédric (Freiburg, Germany)

Strikers: Kabangu Patou (TP Mazembe), Mbuyi Mutombo (St Trond, Belgium), Diba Ilunga Yves (Najran, Saudia Arabia), Mboyo Pelé Ilombe (La Gantoise, Belgium), Kaluyitukadioko Alain (TP Mazembe)

Top Stories