Wrexham and Newport accept Welsh Cup invite

Welsh Cup
The Welsh Cup was first contested in 1878

Blue Square Premier clubs Wrexham and Newport County will play in the Welsh Cup next season.

The two clubs along, with Merthyr Town, have accepted the Football Association of Wales' invitation to take part in the competition.

Wrexham and Newport have received a bye to the Third Round along with the Welsh Premier League clubs.

Three other English-based Welsh clubs - Swansea City, Cardiff City and Colwyn Bay - are not among the 190 entrants.

Wrexham's last game in the competition was their 2-1 win over Cardiff City in the 1995 final at the old National Stadium in Cardiff.

The Dragons are the most successful club in the competition's history, having lifted the cup 23 times.

Newport haven't played in the competition since the 1991/1992 season before they were forced into exile following refusal to join the newly formed League of Wales.

The club's solitary win in the competition came in 1980, when they beat Shrewsbury Town over two legs in the final.

Toolstation League side Merthyr Town will join the competition at the second qualifying round stage.

The first qualifying round will be staged on the weekend 12/13 August with the draw split into a northern and southern section.

Llanelli are the current cup holders following a 4-1 win over Bangor City in the final at Parc y Scarlets in May.