Toure to play for Ivory Coast on return from drugs ban

Ivory Coast and Manchester City's Kolo Toure
Kolo Toure could play for Ivory Coast just 24 hours after the end of his six-month drugs ban

Manchester City defender Kolo Toure could make his return from a six-month drug ban playing for Ivory Coast in a 2012 Africa Cup of Nations Cup qualifier on 3 September.

He has been included in the Elephants' squad for their Group H game away to Rwanda.

The match takes place just 24 hours after the ban imposed on Toure expires.

Toure has been sidelined for six months following a failed drugs test resulting from a diet pill his wife gave him.

The Ivorian federation (FIF) said it had sought clearance from football's world governing body Fifa before adding Toure to a 21-man squad named earlier in the week.

They were told Fifa had no objection to the player training with the rest of his national team-mates next week in preparation for the qualifier.

The ban saw Toure miss the final three months of last season, including the FA Cup victory where City ended a 35-year wait for a trophy.

His first potential game back for his club is against Wigan on 10 September.

Ivory Coast have already qualified for next year's Nations Cup finals but will be seeking to maintain a 100 percent record in Group H.

Ivory Coast squad:

Goalkeepers: Boubacar Barry (Lokeren, Belgium), Gerard Gnanhouan (Vannes OC, France), Ibrahim Kone (Boulogne-sur-Mer, France)

Defenders: Siaka Tiene (Paris St Germain, France), Benjamin Angoua Brou (Valenciennes, France), Igor Lolo (Kuban, Russia), Didier Zokora (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Brice Dja Djedje (Evian Thonon Gaillard, France), Arthur Boka (Stuttgart, Germany), Souleymane Bamba (Leicester, England), Kolo Toure (Manchester City, England)

Midfielders: Jean Jacques Gosso Gosso (Orduspor, Turkey), Didier Ya Konan (Hannover 96, Germany), Cheik Tiote (Newcastle United, England), Moussa Kone (Foggia, Italy), Max Gradel (Leeds United, England), Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England)

Strikers: Gervinho (Arsenal, England), Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England), Salomon Kalou (Chelsea, England), Wilfried Bony (Vitesse Arnhem, Holland)