Manchester United's Phil Jones named in England squad

Phil Jones
Jones captained the England U21's at the European Championships in Denmark

Fabio Capello has named Manchester United defender Phil Jones in the England squad for the first time.

His United team-mate Rio Ferdinand and Spurs' Michael Dawson are both omitted from the 24-man squad for the Euro 2012 qualifiers against Bulgaria and Wales.

Chris Smalling and Bolton's Gary Cahill are also named, while United midfielder Tom Cleverley also gets the call.

Up front Darren Bent and Jermain Defoe are both in after an injury to Danny Welbeck who was in the last squad.

Capello had hinted that there would be no place for Jones before United's 8-2 win over Arsenal, saying that he could be saved for their qualifier against Montenegro on 7 October.

But the 19-year-old has been rewarded for his superb form at the start of the new campaign following his move from Blackburn in the summer.

Former England captain Ferdinand has been struggling with injury and was an unused substitute in United's rout of the Gunners, and with Dawson also missing from the squad, Jones, Cahill, Smalling and Joleon Lescott will compete to partner skipper John Terry at the heart of defence.

After their domination at the start of the Premier League this season, Manchester United and Manchester City between them have 11 players in the squad.

Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere remains out with an ankle injury he sustained in pre-season.

Jones' United team-mate Welbeck will be missing for the two games after picking up a in the game against the Gunners.

The game against Bulgaria takes place on 2 September, while Wales travel to Wembley on 6 September.

England currently top Group G on goal difference from Montenegro in second. Wales lie bottom after falling to win any of their opening four matches.


Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Man City), Robert Green (West Ham), David Stockdale (Fulham - on loan at Ipswich)

Defenders: Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Bolton), John Terry (Chelsea), Leighton Baines (Everton), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Chris Smalling (Man Utd), Phil Jones (Man Utd), Micah Richards (Man City), Joleon Lescott (Man City)

Midfielders: Stewart Downing (Liverpool), Gareth Barry (Man City), Adam Johnson (Man City), James Milner (Man City), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Tom Cleverley (Man Utd), Ashley Young (Man Utd), Scott Parker (West Ham)

Forwards: Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Darren Bent (Aston Villa), Andy Carroll (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham)

Top Stories